The Break-Up Artist

The Break-Up Artist

How did I get it?:
I borrowed it from Luna’s Little Library

Synopsis:

Becca knows from experience the damage that love can do. After all, it was so-called love that turned Huxley from her childhood best friend into a social-world dictator, and love that left Becca’s older sister devastated at the altar. Instead of sitting on the sidelines, Becca strikes back—for just one hundred dollars via PayPal, she will trick and manipulate any couple’s relationship into smithereens. And with relationship zombies overrunning her school and treating single girls as if they’re second-class citizens, business is unfortunately booming. Even Becca’s best friend, Val, has resorted to outright lies to snag a boyfriend.

One night, Becca receives a mysterious offer to break up the most popular couple in school: Huxley and raw football team’s star player, Steve. To succeed, she’ll have to plan her most elaborate scheme to date—starting rumors, sabotaging cell phones, breaking into cars…not to mention sneaking back into Huxley’s good graces. All while fending off the inappropriate feelings she may or may not be having for Val’s new boyfriend.

No one said being the Break-Up Artist would be easy.

Thoughts:

This book seemed to be around everywhere in 2014. For some reason I didn’t seem to get around to it around its release when it was prominent in the blogosphere. I’m glad I borrowed a copy from Luna though, as I thought it was a fantastic, easy to read contemporary book.

The Break-Up Artist centres around Becca who is feeling rather bitter about love after having her best friend abandon her for a boyfriend (this happens often to girls!) and experiencing her sister’s trouble with love after being jilted at the altar. Becca decides to do something about it, and for some money, Becca becomes The Break-Up Artist. People pay her to break up couples. Becca has to do some devious stuff to break up couples. Becca learns that love can be even more complicated than she had ever anticipated.

I really enjoyed The Break-Up Artist. I was expecting it to be a little cheesy, but it really wasn’t. I could totally understand where Becca was coming from. I could see her motivation behind breaking up couples, even if I didn’t really agree with it. What I enjoyed about this book was that it does have some depth to it. It’s real in the way it does explore how having a boyfriend/girlfriend seems to define you in secondary/high school. I know from my experience of secondary school, having a boyfriend or girlfriend was one of the most important things and it’s sad that it is this way.

The Break-Up Artist is fun and easy to read. It’s not fluffy, it deals with commitment and relationships in a real manner. Becca’s voice is accurate and believable. It surprised me!

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

A great book which has hidden depth!

2 thoughts on “The Break-Up Artist

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

