Ten Bookish Things That I’m Thankful For

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list is a Thanksgiving freebie. I decided to go for ten bookish things that I’m thankful for. This is either authors, people or things in my life that I associate with my love of reading.

My mum- My mum taught me how to read when I was four years old. I ‘blame’ her for my love of books. My mum still loves reading now and I really do think she instilled a love of reading into me!

My sister- My sister and fellow book blogger Bibliobeth read to me a lot when we were younger. Even now most of our conversations are book or blog related and I LOVE that.

My class- I am a primary school teacher. I teach Year 2. They are 6-7 year olds. They didn’t like reading at the start of term (September), but they’re already showing much more interest in reading and books. I love it.

My kindle- I’m definitely more of a real book girl, but my kindle is so useful for a long journey or holiday.

The bookish community- I adore how welcoming the book blogging community is. I felt welcomed immediately. Book nerds unite!

Book blogs- I am inspired by so many book bloggers and get so many wonderful book recommendations from my blogging friends. Forever grateful, even if my TBR pile doesn’t agree!

Matt Haig and Reasons To Stay Alive- I think everyone that has or has had depression, or knows someone that does should read this wonderful book.

Reasons to Stay Alive

Roald Dahl- I used to love Roald Dahl as a child and I’m loving reading his books to the children in my class. They lap it up!

Enid Blyton- Enid Blyton was a huge part of my childhood. I haven’t reread any of her work yet, but I’m sure it would give me the warm fuzzies if I did!

Louise O’Neill- Louise O’Neill is a raw and real voice in YA. I really appreciate what she’s doing. Check out her two books!

Only Ever Yours Asking For It

What have you done with the Thanksgiving Freebie this week? Feel free to leave a link and I’ll stop by! Happy Thanksgiving to all that celebrate!

64 thoughts on “Ten Bookish Things That I’m Thankful For

  1. I love this community as well! So welcoming and kind. And just like you, I should thank my mom more often for getting me into reading. She taught me to read a bit, before I did so in school. She always encouraged reading and book buying, while my dad and brother don’t really as they don’t like to read.

    Great list Chrissi!

    • Not a problem, whatsoever. You can either put a link when you put up a picture that people can click on to get to the original blog, or, like I’ve done I’ve put The Broke And The Bookish (the hosts for this meme) and then went to the ‘link’ button, (looks like a paper clip) and added the link to the original blog. On The Broke and The Bookish’s page there will be a link for you to add your post on, so people can come and visit you. Does that make sense?

  2. Great list, Chrissi! I will have to look for Haig’s book–it sounds like a meaningful one. I am grateful for books too. I think it’s wonderful that your mom was behind your love for reading. I hope that for my daughter too. 🙂

  3. Really like you list this week, my family made my list too, I don’t know how I would have gotten through some bad times without them. I haven’t heard of Haig’s book before but it looks fascinating. I am currently putting together my Christmas list for Santa so may pop that one on it too! Sounds like you are teaching your students good things! Happy reading!

  4. Such a sweet list! I’d have a lot of overlap if I did something similar. So many great people in the world, including all the lovely bloggers, that I owe my love of reading to.

  5. Love your list! I love reading what everyone is thankful for in the months of November and December. It’s my favorite time of the year and reminds me of all I have to be thankful for. 🙂

  6. Lovely list! Having a parent who encourage you to read is one of the greatest gifts a person can have! And same goes for a great teacher — your class is very lucky.

  7. I remember seeing Only Ever Yours circulating around, but I’ve never heard of Asking for It. If it is what the title implies it’ll be, I’m certainly interested! These authors must be very important to you, if you’re lumping them in with your family and kindle!

  8. Pingback: Friday Finds #11 – One Little Bookshelf

  9. I swore I commented, but I think I just did in my head- oops! Because the second I finished reading this last week, I went to Netgalley and requested Matt Haig’s book.It sounds so, so important! And of course, I have so much love for Louise O’Neill! And I love that you are so thankful for your family and your class, that is so sweet! ❤

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

