Chasing Stars (After Eden #2)

Chasing Stars (After Eden, #2)

How did I get it?:
I borrowed it from Luna’s Little Library

Previously reviewed by the same author:
After Eden

Synopsis:

The boy Eden loves just saved her life. Now she must save his. To do so she must make a huge sacrifice. Eden can never see her friends or family again, as she travels a hundred years into the future. But the dangerous risk Ryan took to rescue Eden has been uncovered, and now Ryan faces an exile …which will leave Eden separated from him – the one person she can’t live without – and stuck in the future. She must fight to save both of them.

Thoughts:

I read After Eden quite some time now and for some reason never got around to Chasing Stars. It’s always a worry when it’s been a while since you’ve read the first book in the series. Some sequels jump straight into the action with no recap about what had happened prior to the book. I didn’t feel like Chasing Stars did that. I immediately knew what had gone on and was ready to follow Eden and Ryan once more. Chasing Stars is a decent sequel. It’s not a book that I found overly memorable, but I really did enjoy reading it.

In After Eden, Eden and Eyan first meet when Ryan is trying to stop Eden’s friend from discovering a planet. Ryan is from the future. Eden is killed by a cleaner (someone that ‘cleans’ up mistakes) as a result of Ryan failing the mission. Chasing Stars centres around Ryan wanting to make it up to Eden, so he uses time travel once more to go back in time and stop her death. Ryan is breaking all sorts of time travel rules, therefore Eden and Ryan find themselves in more trouble with cleaners and court cases. Eden and Ryan just want to be together, but it’s not as easy as they’d hope it to be. Eden finds herself leaving her friends and family in order to be with Ryan.

Chasing Stars was really intriguing, but for some reason I didn’t find it as compelling as After Eden. It took a while to build up the tension and then it didn’t captivate me. I still liked the characters and was intrigued enough to see how it ended, but I wasn’t as invested as I was in the first instalment.

This is a duology and I think it ended well. There are some unanswered questions, but not really in a frustrating way. I’m pleased with how it ended and I’m happy I read it!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

A solid ending to the After Eden duology!

2 thoughts on “Chasing Stars (After Eden #2)

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

