Born Weird

Born Weird

How did I get it?:
I bought it during my reading spa at Mr B’s Emporium

Synopsis:

The Weirds have always been a little peculiar, but not one of them suspected that they’d been cursed by their grandmother.

At the moment of their birth Annie Weird gave each of her five grandchildren a special power that she thought was a blessing.

Now Annie is dying and she has one last task for Angie, her favourite grandchild. Angie has to gather her far-flung brothers and sisters and assemble them in her Grandmother’s hospital room so that at the moment of her death, she can lift these blessings turned curses.

Thoughts:

I was recommended this book during my Reading Spa at Mr B’s Emporium (read the post about it here). I don’t know if it’s necessarily a book that I would have otherwise picked up. However, as soon as our lovely bibliotherapist talked about it, I knew it was definitely earning a place on my TBR. I can’t believe that I waited until SEPTEMBER to read it, but you know what TBR’s are like… I’m so thrilled that this book was recommended to me. I absolutely loved it and now desperately want to read more from Andrew Kaufman.

As you might expect from the title of this book, Andrew Kaufman’s Born Weird is weird! It’s one of the most unique books that I’ve read this year. I absolutely lapped it up. Born Weird centres around the Weird siblings. They were blessed and cursed (blursed!) with a gift from their grandmother. The blursings came in the shape of being safe, never getting lost, physical strength, hope and the ability to always forgive. These might sound like awesome blessings, but in some ways they were also curses. They resulted in people walking all over them, anger and emotional detachment. When their grandmother is dying, she wants the siblings to be reunited so she can lift the curse.

This book is so quirky, but it never seems like it’s trying to be a quirky book. It’s full of magical realism, great writing and an engaging storyline.

I particularly loved reading about the siblings coming together. Their journey together was funny to read about, but it did have some sadness injected into it. Andrew Kaufman did a fantastic job of portraying each member of the family’s demons. They certainly had them, that’s for sure.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

This book is best read without knowing too much about it. It’s wonderfully quirky and so well written!

2 thoughts on “Born Weird

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

