The Wrong Side Of Right

The Wrong Side of Right

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

Kate Quinn’s mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So when the unexpected shows up in her living room, Kate must confront another reality she never thought possible—or thought of at all. Kate does have a father. He’s a powerful politician. And he’s running for U.S. President. Suddenly, Kate’s moving in with a family she never knew she had, joining a campaign in support of a man she hardly knows, and falling for a rebellious boy who may not have the purest motives. This is Kate’s new life. But who is Kate? When what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign’s talking points, she must decide. Does she turn to the family she barely knows, the boy she knows but doesn’t necessarily trust, or face a third, even scarier option?

Set against a backdrop of politics, family, and first love, this is a story of personal responsibility, complicated romance, and trying to discover who you are even as everyone tells you who you should be.

Thoughts:

I had heard a lot of good things about The Wrong Side Of Right, so I picked up a copy without really knowing much about it. As I picked it up to read, I was surprised that it politics was at the centre of it. Not my favourite subject area, yet I was intrigued and engaged by this book. Jenn Marie Thorne is a great writer and I’m certainly looking forward to what comes next from her.

The Wrong Side Of Right centres around Kate Quinn, who has recently lost her mother. Kate thought she was parentless, but her father turns up. Kate is shocked to find out that her father is a politican who is currently running for the US president. Kate’s world is completely turned around, when she meets her new family including her stepmother and her half brother and sister. Kate also falls in love with the wrong person, the son of the opposition, she realises his interest in her may also be political and tactical.

Kate is an easy character to like. She’s clever, which I appreciate, and holds herself together well considering how her life completely changes in an instant. I also really enjoyed how real the relationship between her new family was portrayed. Both her stepmother and her new siblings took a while to adapt to accepting Kate into their family. This was incredibly realistic. I don’t think anyone would welcome a ‘love child’ into the family so quickly. I really liked Meg, the Senator’s wife. I enjoyed reading about her developing relationship with Kate. Again, so realistic. Jenn Marie Thorne is a great writer!

I thought this book was really good and balancing the personal and political dramas in Kate’s life. The romance is certainly more on the light side. It’s not at the forefront of the story. In fact, The Wrong Side Of Right is more about family and building relationships.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

A fantastic debut so don’t be put off by the political aspect if you’re not into politics!

2 thoughts on “The Wrong Side Of Right

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed this even if politics isn’t your favorite theme in books, Chrissi. I think it sounds really intriguing, especially as Kate thought she was all alone at first, then learned she had a father, and other family members as well. Plus the fact that she was introduced into the midst of a presidential campaign.
    Great review 🙂

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

