Comparing ‘Lily And The Christmas Wish’ by Keris Stainton

Lily and the Christmas Wish

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

When a town’s Christmas wishes get mixed-up, can one little girl and her dog put them right?

The little town of Pinewood can’t wait for Christmas this year. They’re going to celebrate by putting up a giant Christmas tree in the town square, and asking all the townspeople to hang a Christmas wish on its branches. Everyone is feeling very festive, including nine-year-old Lily – although she’s not sure she believes in wishes. Then a very strange storm blows in, scattering all the wishes…and Lily wakes up the next morning to a bit of a surprise. Bug, her adorable pug puppy, can talk! It’s magic – and a wish come true! But it’s not Lily’s wish…

Lily and her little brother James soon discover that something must have happened during the storm – the town’s wishes have been granted, but to all the wrong people! Lily, James and Bug must work out which wish belongs to who, and sort everything out before Christmas Eve – otherwise no one will get what they want for Christmas.

Thoughts before you started reading Lily and the Christmas Wish?

CHRISSI: I thought it looked SO cute!

LUNA: Keris Stainton = good reading

What did you think of Lily?

CHRISSI: I adored Lily. I think she’s a great character for children to look up to. She’s caring and thoughtful.

LUNA: Lily is an endearing character that guides you through the mishaps of Pinewoods wishes coming true. This book is quite short but I thought Lily was a fully developed character; she cares about her brother and is very affected by what happened the last time she made a wish.

Best bit?

CHRISSI: Just how utterly adorable it was. I can easily see children relating to the story and I love how it’s got some depth to it, especially because it’s a short book.

LUNA: I think I’m going to pick Grandmother’s arrival, partly because it’s such a big plot moment in the book but also because I really like her as a character.

Worst bit?

CHRISSI: I really don’t think there was anything I disliked about this book. It was cute, endearing and so well written.

LUNA: There’s nothing that I disliked about Lily and the Christmas Wish. Personally I would have liked more story but I understand why the book the length it is.

Favourite character/moment?

CHRISSI: Ooh that’s a tricky one, as I liked so many of the characters. For me though, Lily is the star of the book. She’s adorable.

LUNA: I really liked Bug. If pets started talking that would probably be terrifying but it’s something what you do always wonder about, what if they could? Bug voice/personality is great and I enjoyed reading those parts a lot. (Also see my answer for “Best bit?”)

Was Lily and the Christmas Wish what you expected?

CHRISSI: It was much better than I had anticipated, and I was expecting a lovely read. I didn’t expect it to steal my heart so much. I wish I had read it sooner, so that I could read it to my class. Maybe next year!

LUNA: Quality wise I’d say I was spot on. I didn’t exactly know how the story was going to go but I knew Keris Stainton would deliver a lovely book to I’d enjoy from start to finish.

Would you recommend it?

CHRISSI: Without a doubt!

LUNA: Absolutely

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

