Thicker Than Water

Thicker Than Water

How did I get it?:
NetGalley- thanks to Kensington Books

Synopsis:

Thomas Bellweather hasn’t been in town long. Just long enough for his newlywed mother to be murdered, and for his new stepdad’s cop colleagues to decide Thomas is the primary suspect.

Not that there’s any evidence. But before Thomas got to Garretts Mill there had just been one other murder in twenty years.

The only person who believes him is Charlotte Rooker, little sister to three cops and, with her soft hands and sweet curves, straight-up dangerous to Thomas. Her best friend was the other murder vic. And she’d like a couple answers.

Answers that could get them both killed, and reveal a truth Thomas would die to keep hidden…

Thoughts:

I had heard about Brigid Kemmerer for quite some time, but for some reason never really ventured into her books. Then one day I was browsing NetGalley and the cover and the synopsis of Thicker Than Water stood out to me. I love a good murder mystery and I was immediately intrigued by the synopsis.

This book has dual narration. The reader hears from Thomas and Charlotte. Thomas is new to town. His mother has recently been murdered. She was brutally strangled. Charlotte is your typical ‘good girl’. I have to admit that she came across as a little frustrating, but she definitely grew on me as the story progressed. She’s daughter to a police officer and sister to three protective brothers who are also in the police force.  There doesn’t seem to be any evidence to point to a murderer, so Thomas is prime suspect. One day Charlotte and Thomas meet, Charlotte’s family do NOT trust Thomas, so they try hard to get him locked up. Charlotte is the only one that believes Thomas and is determined to find out what really happened to his mother.

My first impression of Brigid Kemmerer’s writing is that she writes male characters incredibly convincingly. I think Thomas came across well. He was sensitive, but strong at the same time, maintaining a calm exterior, when really he was feeling confused and saddened inside. I liked his relationship with Charlotte. I liked how much she believed in him, no matter what her family was saying about him. It’s nice to read about characters who believe in the best of people.

Given the cover, I thought this book was going to be sexier than it actually was. Thomas and Charlotte’s relationship wasn’t as intense as I expected it to be. There were some moments that I’m sure many readers will swoon over, but I expected them to be more frequent. Not that I’m complaining, it just shows that expectations can be so wrong!

As for the murder mystery itself, I don’t think it’s that predictable. There are certainly some surprises thrown in along the way. The story takes an interesting twist about halfway through. I would have loved the twist to have been introduced a little bit earlier in order to explore it more, but that didn’t spoil my enjoyment of the story.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

I enjoyed my first step into Brigid Kemmerer’s writing. This is a decent read!

4 thoughts on “Thicker Than Water

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

