Moth Girls

Moth Girls

How did I get it?:
NetGalley- thanks to Bonnier Publishing/Hot Key Books

Previously read by the same author:
Dead Time
Killing Rachel

Synopsis:

They called them the Moth Girls because they were attracted to the house. They were drawn to it. Or at least that is what is written in the newspapers that Mandy reads on the anniversary of when her two best friends went missing. Five years have passed since Petra and Tina were determined to explore the dilapidated house on Princess Street. But what started off as a dare ended with the two girls vanishing. As Mandy’s memories of the disappearance of her two friends are ignited once again, disturbing details will resurface in her mind.

Thoughts:

I have read and enjoyed two books by Anne Cassidy before, so when I heard about this book from Hot Key Books, I was immediately intrigued. The synopsis pulled me in, so I knew that I’d be giving it a go ASAP.

Moth Girls centres around two girls that have gone missing. The girls are called the Moth Girls because they have always been drawn to a house. The book is split into parts. Sometimes the reader is learning about the present, narrated by Mandy who is talking about her two best friends Petra and Tina. The rest of the time, the reader is learning about the past and what led the girls to go to the house on Princess Street which is narrated by Petra.

I expected this story to be dark, Anne Cassidy’s previous work does have a bit of a darker edge to it. It certainly has an atmospheric feel which built as the story progressed. I was interested to read what had happened to the girls and I didn’t predict it right from the offset, which is always a good sign!

Anne Cassidy’s writing is easy to read. The mystery keeps you turning the pages. I am looking forward to reading more of her books!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

An intriguing, atmospheric mystery!

One thought on “Moth Girls

  1. Pingback: Rearview Mirror: January 2016 | The Aroma of Books

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

