Beth and Chrissi Do Kid-Lit 2015: The Round Up

1) What was your favourite Kid-Lit book of 2015 and why?

BETH: SUCH a tough choice. We had some super amazing titles this year. If I absolutely had to choose one it would be Goodnight Mister Tom which narrowly beats The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe, one of my all-time favourites. So beautiful. So moving. I may have shed a tear or two…

CHRISSI: It has to be Goodnight Mister Tom which is one of my favourite books of all time, even as an adult it moved me. Possibly more so. Arghhhh the love I have for this book.

2) What was your least favourite Kid-Lit book of 2015 and why?

BETH: Hmm. There weren’t any real howlers this year (compared to the horror that was The Swiss Family Robinson last year!). Again if I had to choose, I would go for Diary Of A Wimpy Kid. This is not because it’s terrible because it’s not at all. Perhaps I was just expecting something a bit more and maybe I’m the wrong demographic but it wasn’t an amazing read for me.

CHRISSI: Watership Down. I’m a massive rabbit lover and wanted to connect with it more.

3) What was the Kid-Lit book of 2015 that surprised you the most?

BETH: Either Watership Down which was slightly darker than I expected or Velveteen Rabbit which was even more adorable than I expected!

CHRISSI: The Lightning Thief. I didn’t expect to enjoy Percy Jackson as much as I did!

4) Have you been inspired to read any other books from a Kid-Lit author of 2015?

BETH: Yes! Something else from Ruth Thomas after once again thoroughly enjoying The Class That Went Wild as an adult and David Walliams as I thought Gangsta Granny was a brilliant read. Wonder if one of these authors will turn up on our list for 2016?

CHRISSI: More from David Walliams and Rick Riordan!

2 thoughts on “Beth and Chrissi Do Kid-Lit 2015: The Round Up

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

