This Is Where It Ends

This Is Where It Ends

How did I get it?:
I received it for the This Is Where It Ends UK Yearbook Tour

Synopsis:

10:00 a.m.
The principal of Opportunity, Alabama’s high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve.

10:02 a.m.
The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class.

10:03
The auditorium doors won’t open.

10:05
Someone starts shooting.

Told over the span of 54 harrowing minutes from four different perspectives, terror reigns as one student’s calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.

Thoughts:

This Is Where It Ends has been getting a LOT of buzz around the blogosphere. I feel like I’ve been seeing this book around so many blogs on anticipated lists, which makes me very happy- but scared at the same time. All too often, books don’t live up to the hype. I believe that This Is Where It Ends does live up to the hype and I can’t wait to read people’s reviews of it!

Considering that this story is told over such a short period of time, the author packs in so much information. I felt like I knew the four narrators well through clever use of flashbacks and well written character development throughout. I have to be honest and admit that I don’t always get on with this sort of narration, but for this book, I believe it was done well.

The only thing that prevented me from giving it the full five star treatment was that I felt the tweets/messages didn’t add much to the story, however, they didn’t affect my enjoyment of the story, I’m just ultra picky with my five stars! 😉

The story is powerful. It’s heart-breaking and terrifying at the same time. If I hadn’t have been so busy, I could’ve easily read this book in one sitting. It’s addictive, fast paced and easy to devour.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course! 4.5 stars

This Is Where It Ends is an incredibly established debut. I look forward to following Marieke Nijkamp’s career! 

This Is Where It Ends comes out tomorrow!

17 thoughts on “This Is Where It Ends

  1. I have this one coming up and scared to read it too! I also get nervous about short time line novels but since you mentioned that it is done well, gives me hope!

  2. This is the first review that I have read for this book. I already have it on my TBR and can’t wait to read it.
    I don’t know what this trend is towards adding test messages and other media in books. I don’t like it. I am glad that it didn’t effect your overall experience in this case though.

  3. I LOVED this book! I read so many bad reviews of this book before, I am so happy that there is someone out there with the same opinion! I cried so much after I finished this book!!

    • Yay! I’m pleased that you loved it too. I’ve seen some mixed reviews, I guess that’s what happens when a book is hyped as much as this one was. I’m so glad you enjoyed it though!

      • I only ever saw negative reviews, so when I liked it I thought I was the black sheep of the book community!! Glad to see that I am not!!! 😀

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

