Fairy Tale Friday- Hans-My-Hedgehog

I’m returning to my Fairy Tale Friday feature. Over the festive period, I completely got out of sync and forgot to post this feature! I’m back on it for 2016. The first fairy tale I read was Hans-My-Hedgehog which is up there for one of the strangest Grimm Tales that I’ve read.

Hans-My-Hedgehog centres around a man who is wishing he had a child. He would even settle for a hedgehog. The man goes home to find that his wife has given birth to a baby boy…who is a hedgehog from the waist up! They decide to call him Hans-My-Hedgehog.

Some time later, the man goes to a fair and asks his family what they want. Hans-My-Hedgehog asks for bagpipes and receives them. Later, Hans-My-Hedgehog asks for his cockerel to be shod, so that he can ride it. Hans-My-Hedgehog wants to make his fortune. He rides off into the woods.

Hans-My-Hedgehog comes across a king who is lost in the woods. Hans-My-Hedgehog tells the king he’ll help him find hos way home in exchange for whatever first meets the king when he returns. The king promises, but then realises Hans-My-Hedgehog can’t read. The king writes down that Hans will receive nothing. This was a great decision as the king’s daughter meets the king from home. Hans helps a second king who promises that Hans can have the first thing that he meets..

When Hans comes to claim his promises, he finds the first king to be withholding his daughter. Hans forces him to give his daughter away. Hans harms the daughter- quite gruesomely- he forces her to take off her clothes, he pierces her all over until she is bleeding and then sends her home. Ew. Evil! The second king agrees to the marriage of his daughter and Hans. Hans reassures the daughter that his prickles will not harm her. On their wedding night he needs a big fire, when Hans takes of his hedgehog skin it must be burnt. Once the skin is burnt Hans turns into a handsome young man!

This fairy tale was a bit harsh on the first king’s daughter! It was really intriguing though… if a little gross.

Next Fairy Tale- The Little Shroud

13 thoughts on “Fairy Tale Friday- Hans-My-Hedgehog

  1. Pingback: Commenting 365 Challenge! | Rabbit Ears Productions Blog

  2. Pingback: Commenting 365 Challenge Update #1 | Rabbit Ears Productions Blog

  3. Pingback: Commenting 365 Challenge Update #2 | Rabbit Ears Productions Blog

  4. Pingback: Commenting 365 Challenge Update #3 | Rabbit Ears Productions Blog

  5. Pingback: Commenting 365 Challenge Update #5 | Rabbit Ears Productions Blog

  6. Pingback: Commenting 365 Challenge Update #6 | Rabbit Ears Productions Blog

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

