Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4)

Winter (The Lunar Chronicles, #4)

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Cinder
Scarlet
Cress
Fairest

Synopsis:

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

Thoughts:

I realise that not everyone is up to date with The Lunar Chronicles, so I’m going to try and keep this review as spoiler free (and therefore quite short!) as I can. Very tricky to do that with a fourth book in the series.

Winter is an incredibly long book at over 800 pages. Although I didn’t feel like the story was ever dragging. There were definitely moments within the story that it was hard to put it down. The last 100 or so pages are incredibly action packed and left me wondering where the story was going to go.

I absolutely loved that we were reunited with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress. I adored that we saw their relationships develop with their ‘Princes’. I absolutely loved the relationships and Winter and Jacin are no exception. I think Marissa Meyer writes romances so well. I have rooted for every one of the relationships. Levana is fantastic in this book. So wonderfully wicked.

One slight negative that I have about this story, was that it felt it could be condensed a lot more. 800 pages + is mammoth!

Would I recommend it?
Of course!

A fantastic ending to The Lunar Chronicles! I loved it!

12 thoughts on “Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4)

  1. Great review Chrissi! I completely agree with the relationship development within the series. It was so fantastic! I also loved Levana’s wickedness. I thought that the 800 pages were too much and could’ve been condensed too. Overall, it was still a great book!

  2. Usually a 800+ page will throw me off. However, I found that it wasn’t an issue for me with Winter because it was so easy to get sucked in to the world. Like you said the relationships in this series are phenomenal. Each pairing has such a different dynamic to one another and the friendship between the crew was heart-warming. Great review.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

