Bookishly Ever After (Ever After #1)

Bookishly Ever After (Ever After, #1)

How did I get it?:
NetGalley- thanks to Spencer Hill Press

Synopsis:

In a perfect world, sixteen-year-old Phoebe Martins’ life would be a book. Preferably a YA novel with magic and a hot paranormal love interest. Unfortunately, her life probably wouldn’t even qualify for a quiet contemporary. But when Phoebe finds out that Dev, the hottest guy in the clarinet section, might actually have a crush on her, she turns to her favorite books for advice. Phoebe overhauls her personality to become as awesome as her favorite heroines and win Dev’s heart. But if her plan fails, can she go back to her happy world of fictional boys after falling for the real thing?

Thoughts:

I was really excited about reading this book when I heard about it during some research for a Top Ten Tuesday list on 2016 releases. I was thrilled to be approved to read it, so big thanks to Spencer Hill Press. I think this book is perfect for bookish people. There are so many bookish quirks that I could easily relate to. It made me laugh out loud at moments. I started out really loving this book, but unfortunately it felt like it took too long to get to the ending. I am excited to see how this book is received in the book blogging community. It’s just so relatable for us book lovers!

Bookishly Ever After centres around one of my favourite recent YA characters Phoebe Martin. She’s a huge bookworm who is into YA. Yep, I could totally relate to that. Phoebe is nothing like the characters she reads about. Phoebe finds out that Dev, a cute guy at school is into her. Of course, Phoebe turns to her books for advice. Phoebe tries to become the characters in her book, to give her added confidence, but unfortunately real life doesn’t work that way!

At first I thought Phoebe and Dev’s interactions were really cute. However, it never seemed to go anywhere and this, for me, affected the pace of the novel. They’d flirt and Phoebe would seek advice from her books or her trusty notebook, but then the flirtation would stop. Then repeat. As cute as it was, I was looking for a little more pace with the relationship. It became boring and that’s a shame.

That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy this book. I did. It’s quirky, it’s fun, it’s adorable. If it was a faster paced read then I definitely would have given this book the four star treatment.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

An adorable read for any YA obsessed bookworm!

6 thoughts on “Bookishly Ever After (Ever After #1)

  1. This book sounds so cute! I absolutely love books with main characters with similar interests to me, and this one sounds exactly like that! I find it weird that there aren’t more main characters who love reading in YA novel, actually. So the fact that this book centres on a character who loves YA is awesome!

    It’s a shame about the slow pacing, though. Maybe it was supposed to be a slow-burn romance that just dragged on a little too long.

    I’m glad you enjoyed it overall, Chrissi! 🙂

    • I really appreciated the bookishness of this book. I reckon the blogosphere are going to lap it up! 🙂 I really hope you enjoy this book, if you get around to reading it. It’s totally worth it.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

