Comparing ‘Am I Normal Yet?’ by Holly Bourne

Am I Normal Yet? (Normal, #1)

Synopsis:

All Evie wants is to be normal. She’s almost off her meds and at a new college where no one knows her as the girl-who-went-crazy. She’s even going to parties and making friends. There’s only one thing left to tick off her list…

But relationships are messy – especially relationships with teenage guys. They can make any girl feel like they’re going mad. And if Evie can’t even tell her new friends Amber and Lottie the truth about herself, how will she cope when she falls in love?

Thoughts before you started reading Am I Normal Yet?

CHRISSI: I was a little nervous if I’m honest. I struggle with anxiety on a day to day basis so when it comes to books on mental health issues, I often find they can either be hit or miss.

LUNA: Apprehensive. So any reader of my blog will know how much I love and promote diverse books but sometimes it goes wrong and sometimes very wrong. So there is always a little worry before you begin reading…

What did you think of Evie?

CHRISSI: I thought she was a fantastic character. So well written. I could relate to so many of her thoughts. It was like Holly Bourne had crawled inside of my head and really took notice of everything going on in there!

LUNA: I loved Evie. She had me hooked from the very beginning of the book. Her narration is engaging and, for me, I absolutely and completely believed in Evie. There are certain aspects of Evie that I understand entirely too well, which is why I think I think I connected so strongly with her.

Best bit?

CHRISSI: It’s rawness. I don’t think Holly ever holds back and through Evie, she really documents what it’s like to live with a mental health problem.

LUNA: Pages 90-93, which includes this page:

https://twitter.com/lunaslibrary/status/690998142695784448

As someone with panic attacks, if I had a £1 for every f#cking time somebody said that. Well I found certainly have another 2-week holiday in Las Vegas. No problem.

Worst bit?

CHRISSI: Some moments are particularly hard to read as they are close to the bone.

LUNA: That I couldn’t climb into the book and help. Is that an option for an answer? Just this once, please?

Favourite character/moment?

CHRISSI: I can’t pinpoint a favourite character. I did adore Evie and Amber. They stood out to me.

LUNA: This might be an odd choice but it’s actually Evie’s reaction to Oli. Why? Because it’s completely real and I understood why she did that.

Also I love Amber, I’m so glad the next book is about her.

Was Am I Normal Yet what you expected?

CHRISSI: It was much better than I had anticipated. I will definitely recommend it!

LUNA: It was better. I should never have doubted Holly Bourne
*hangs head in shame*

Would you recommend it?

CHRISSI: Of course!

LUNA: Absolutely

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

