Beth and Chrissi Do Kid-Lit: The Demon Headmaster

The Demon Headmaster

How did I get it?:
I borrowed it from Beth!

Synopsis:

On Dinah’s first day at school she senses something is wrong. The kids work even during playtime, and are neat and behave well but what is the secret of the Headmaster’s control over them, and why are they afraid?

Thoughts:

When I think of Gillian Cross, I think of The Demon Headmaster, a book that I read numerous times when I was younger. I have such strong, fond memories of this book, thanks to Beth introducing me to the book. I enjoyed rereading it as an adult, I totally think that this book will still suit children even now! 

The Demon Headmaster centres around Dinah and her two foster brothers, Lloyd and Harvey. They go to a school where something is very, very wrong. Most of the school are so neat, well behaved and they work during playtime. The headmaster seems to have a crazy amount of control over the school, but why? Dinah, Lloyd and Harvey are determined to find out.

Despite the title, the headteacher in this book is certainly not demonic. He is creepy and mean though. I remember absolutely loving this book and devouring it page by page. Going back to it as an adult is great fun, especially as this book was published in 1982 (this book is older than me!) so some of the language choices are fantastically old-fashioned and made me feel all warm and fuzzy.

Of course, visiting this book as an adult is a completely different reading experience. It wasn’t as flawless as I thought, yet I still think it’s an entertaining read, packed full of adventure. I can imagine could inspire some fantastic role play/creative writing (Damn, I’ve always got my teacher head on nowadays šŸ˜‰ )

For Beth’s brilliant review, please check out her blog HERE.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

Next up in the Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit Challenge (February):
Carrie’s War- Nina Bawden

One thought on “Beth and Chrissi Do Kid-Lit: The Demon Headmaster

  1. Pingback: Beth And Chrissi Do Kid-Lit 2016 – JANUARY READ – The Demon Headmaster by Gillian Cross | bibliobeth

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

