Top Ten Historical Books That I Love

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list is all about the past or the future. We were able to spin it however we liked. I decided to look at some of my favourite historical reads.

In no particular order, here are my favourite historical books! Book images go to Goodreads!

Cross My Heart- Carmen Reid

Cross My Heart

This book totally surprised me. I had previously read Carmen Reid’s fluffier, lighter reads and seriously thought I was reading another author. Cross My Heart is a touching, emotional, tough read. It centres around a girl who fights back against Nazis invading Belgium.

The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas- John Boyne

 The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas

This book is so well known I don’t really think I need to go into it that much. I know a lot of people have mixed feelings about this book, but I thoroughly enjoyed it even though it broke my heart. A beautiful book.

Sarah’s Key-Tatiana de Rosnay

Sarah's Key

Yet another heart-breaker. What is it with me and these heart-breaking reads? I do adore this book though and think it is seriously underrated.

The Other Me- Saskia Sarginson

The Other Me

This is a fairly recent read which I absolutely lapped up. I didn’t expect to like it as much as I did! I highly recommend this book which involves family secrets.

The Book Thief- Markus Zusak

The Book Thief

This book needs no introduction. Even if you haven’t read it, I’m sure you’ve heard of it. It definitely earns its place in my favourite historical reads.

The Constant Princess- Philippa Gregory

The Constant Princess (The Tudor Court, #1)

I know a lot of people don’t like this series because it’s not as historically accurate as it could be. I adore it though and The Constant Princess has to be my favourite. It centres around Catherine of Aragon.

The Help- Kathryn Stockett

The Help

It couldn’t be a top ten historical list without mentioning this book. I absolutely adore it. It’s one of my favourites of all time AND the movie is a good adaptation. Win win!

The Quietness, The Madness, The Beloved- Alison Rattle

The Quietness The Madness The Beloved

I actutally couldn’t pick a favourite historical fiction read from Alison Rattle, so I had to add them all. She’s well worth reading!

What did you do for your list this week? Feel free to leave a link and I’ll stop by!

57 thoughts on “Top Ten Historical Books That I Love

  1. Just hearing The Book Thief’s title involuntarily makes me grimace, I hated it that much! My negative review of it is one of my most-viewed blog posts. I don’t think I want to try reading The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, after reading many detailed reviews pointing out all the things which are not only historical inaccuracies, but historical impossibilities. I’ve read probably scores of Shoah books since about age twelve, and would more highly recommend books such as Ida Vos’s The Key Is Lost, Isabella Leitner’s Fragments of Isabella, Rena Kornreich Gelissen’s Rena’s Promise, and Livia Bitton-Jackson’s I Have Lived a Thousand Years.

    • I remember that you didn’t like The Book Thief. I definitely don’t recommend some of these books if you don’t like historical inaccuracies/impossibilities. Thank you for the recommendations.

  2. The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas was heartbreaking but took place during one of my favorite historical settings (I know depressing). Philippa Gregory usually does a good job with representing the historical time- very accurate. I loved her book The Other Boleyn Girl.

  3. WWII is such a dramatic and endlessly fascinating setting – not surprised to see many books from that time period on here. I think I’ve noticed before your recommendation of Alison Rattle and took note – I need to get on ith reading something by her!

  4. The Book Thief has my heart. I absolutely love that book and I find that the use of Death as a narrator only further heightens the horrors of World War II. The Help is one book I have been meaning to read for a while now, I watched the film and really enjoyed it and so I feel like it’s only right I read the book. 😀

  5. I’ve realised that I”m not a huge historical fiction reader… but at the same time I generally enjoy my forays into the genre, so I’m not really sure why!

  6. I loved The Book Thief and The Help! The Quietness looks really good, I added it to my TBR list. Thanks for sharing! Thanks also for visiting my TTT post! Happy reading!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

