Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1)

Six of Crows (Six of Crows, #1)

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Shadow and Bone
Siege and Storm
Ruin and Rising

Synopsis:

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

Thoughts:

Leigh Bardugo is one of my favourites. Fact. I really adore her writing, so I knew when Six Of Crows came out that I’d have to get to it ASAP. So I made it my mission to read it in January and that I did! This book took me over a week to read with my teacher-y busyness, but I never felt like it was a slog to read it. I enjoyed picking it up whenever I had a free moment. I do, however, think that it was a little longer than necessary. That said, it didn’t spoil my enjoyment of the story.

Six Of Crows can totally be read without reading The Grisha trilogy. I think this book just enhances the Grisha trilogy experience. Six Of Crows is jammed full of action. There are so many evil characters. I love that. Six of Crows is certainly not a light and fluffy read. There is darkness everywhere. The story centres around a group of thieves who are going on a heist that could be deadly.

As you can probably summise from the title, there are six in the group. The story is told with six point of views. Kaz is our main man. He is the brains behind every step the group takes. He’s wonderful, but I can imagine that many people will get frustrated with him, or find him hard to connect with. I liked him despite the fact he’s not the most likeable character. Then there’s Inje- I thought she was easy to like and I’m intrigued to see how things develop for her… Nina is a Grisha. I love Grisha and I love how confident she is. She’s such a strong character. There’s also Matthias, Jesper and Waylan. I have to say, I wasn’t as interested in their characters as I was with Kaz, Inje and Nina.

The characters all have quite complex back stories and there’s a lot to get your head around. I don’t feel like I took in as much as I should’ve about the characters. I was more interested in their heist, which is so intriguing.  Leigh Bardugo is a master of world building and I love learning more about the world which she is developing with this particular series.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

A fantastic start to the Six Of Crows series. Leigh Bardugo is a fantastic writer!

12 thoughts on “Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1)

  1. I definitely think that Kaz, Inej and Nina were the most interesting of the crew and I hope we get to see a bit more of the other three in the next book. I love how morally ambiguous the characters were and the dynamic between the crew was on point. I can’t wait to see how things play out in Crooked Kingdom. 😀

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

