Chrissi’s Class Reads… #3

Over the past 6 weeks, we have been devouring Roald Dahl. We even found time to fit in a picture book. I think it’s important that my class access a range of literature and in my experience they do still enjoy a picture book!

My little bookworms make this bookish heart very very happy.

James and the Giant Peach

I have to be honest and say I wish the children hadn’t picked this book for a class read. They weren’t as enthused as usual and it took us a while to get through. I tried to make it interesting, but their attention and imagination wasn’t as captured as I’d hoped!

The BFG

The BFG was a completely different reading experience for my class. They absolutely lapped up this book. They loved the way he spoke. Weeks later, they are STILL obsessed with whizzpoppers.

The Magic Porridge Pot

The Magic Porridge PotΒ is a cute little fairy tale which tells the story of a porridge pot which keeps cooking a poor family porridge, which then goes out of control! My class loved this book and enjoyed role playing the story.

Matilda

MatildaΒ is a favourite of mine and happily my class adored it too. I’m a real life Miss Honey in their eyes which is the cutest thing. We included Matilda in some our writing sessions, by writing a diary entry for a character in Matilda and also imagining what we’d do if we had Matilda’s powers!

Next half term, I am looking forward to exploring some more authors with my class. As much as it has been fun to explore Roald Dahl, I think it’s important for them to be exposed to different authors!

14 thoughts on “Chrissi’s Class Reads… #3

  1. I loved Roald Dahl as a child and The BFG was the first paperback my daughter read by herself – a wonderful author who definitely knew how to be in tune with what children enjoy. You sound like you are doing a fantastic job of creating the next generation of story lovers!

  2. I loved Roald Dahl when I was growing up πŸ™‚ Matilda is probably my favourite, closely followed by the BFG.

    It sounds like your class are really enjoying their reading discoveries πŸ™‚

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

