Top Ten Books Involving Music

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list are is a books and music prompt. I found it quite tricky so I decided to look at books with a music/dance plot!

Here are some of my favourites (in no particular order…links go to Goodreads!)

This Song Will Save Your Life-Leila Sales

This Song Will Save Your Life

I was really impressed by this book which didn’t take me long to devour at all. It’s about the power of music which really resonated with me!

Maybe Someday- Colleen Hoover

Maybe Someday (Maybe, #1)

I love this book! I was completely captivated by the story and I loved the musical element.

Open Road Summer- Emery Lord

Open Road Summer

Emery Lord’s writing is amazing. I loved going on tour with Lilah and Reagan!

Remix-Non Pratt

Remix

This book centres around two friends at a festival. I really enjoy the way Non Pratt writes about teenagers. It’s very raw and real.

The Disenchantments- Nina LaCour

The Disenchantments

This book had a lovely mixture of music and art.

You Don’t Know Me- Sophia Bennett

You Don't Know Me

This is a cute YA read which involves music and friendships. An easy book to read!

Saving June- Hannah Harrington

Saving June

I read this book early on in my blogging days. I loved reading about the main character, Harper’sΒ road trip which involved a lot of music, although it was sad as Harper had lost her sister, June, so she was grieving.

A link to music, favourite danced based books-

Pointe- Brandy Colbert

Pointe

I include this book whenever I can because I think it’s just so beautifully written. I loved the dance element, but also that it was such a deeper, darker read than I had anticipated.

Dance of Shadows-Yelena Black

Dance of Shadows (Dance of Shadows, #1)

I read this book quite early on in my blogging days and liked it a lot more than others seemed to. This prompt has totally reminded me to get back to the series to see how it progresses.

The Other Me- Saskia Sarginson

The Other Me

The main character in this moving story is a dancer. I loved this book.

How have you tackled the prompt this week? Feel free to leave a link to your post and I’ll stop by!

49 thoughts on “Top Ten Books Involving Music

  1. I had such a tough time on this prompt this week and don’t know most of the songs others are highlighting so can’t offer any thought on whether they would make good books or not. Sigh. In fact, I think of all the songs I picked, all but one would be romance books. Ha! I liked your list because it offers concrete suggestions of books related to music. Here are a few other books you could add to your list (all YA): Five Flavors of Dumb (a deaf girl tries to manage a rock band); The Lucy Variations (a piano whiz opts out of the race to be the best); Audrey, Wait (when a girl breaks up with her boyfriend he writes a hit song about the experience); Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist (a girl asks a boy she meets at a musical event to be her boyfriend for a few minutes to make her real boyfriend jealous, much of the story revolves around a playlist of favorite songs.)

  2. I loved This Song Will Save Your Life! Seraphina springs to mind when it comes to books with a heavy musical element. Oh and Stolen Songbird too. I guess I can think of more fantasy stories. πŸ™‚

  3. I am not a musical person at all, so I had a difficult time coming up with my list (mostly I just picked some of my favorite songs). You list has made me realize how many books there are out there that talk about music and have it as an important part of their characters lives. I’m really curious to read Pointe, Open Road Summer and This Song Will Save Your Life!
    My TTT

  4. This Song Will Save Your Life is definitely a book that I am glad to see you on TTT. I haven’t read Open Road Summer but I need to soon. I read Emery’s When We Collided and The Start of Me and You and fell in love with both of them. Lovely list you have this week.

  5. What a great spin on this week’s topic, Chrissi! I *really* want to read Emery’s after falling head over heels for her second novel, and I’ve been curious about “This Song Will…” I’ll have to read both. Someday. πŸ˜‰

    Also, some of those dance books look amazing!

    As always thanks so much for visiting Dreaming Under the Same Moon. Always great to chat with you.

  6. Saving June was one of the first books I read when I was just getting back into reading. I absolutely loved that story and I love the way music was featured in it. I think I’m going to have to re-read that book at some point cause some of the details are getting a bit blurry haha.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

