The Number One Rule For Girls

The Number One Rule for Girls

How did I get it?:
I was invited to review it via NetGalley! This did not affect my opinion of the book.

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Me and Mr J

Synopsis:

Daisy knows a thing or two about love and romance. She’s surrounded by it – in fact, there’s no escape! Not only are her parents childhood sweethearts turned soulmates, they also run the very successful wedding agency ‘Something Borrowed’, helping couples to tie the knot in whatever frilly, quirky, tasteful, outrageous way they choose. So it’s no surprise that Daisy has a pretty clear vision of how her life with boyfriend Matt is going to pan out.

There’s one major flaw in this plan – Matt and Daisy have split up! Determined not to brood, Daisy sets out to re-invent her life and her dreams. And that’s when Toby enters the scene, who appears to be perfect, but is turning all the Rules upside down..

Thoughts:

Although I appreciated Rachel McIntyre’s writing in her debut novel, Me and Mr J, I wasn’t the biggest fan of it. I think this was mainly down to being a teacher. It didn’t sit right with me and made me highly uncomfortable. Me being me though, I like to give an author another chance- especially because it was the subject matter that I had problems with in Rachel’s debut. I enjoyed reading The Number One Rule For Girls (It certainly made my train journey go by quickly!) but be warned, there are some moments in it which are a little frustrating.

It centres around Daisy, who has recently split up with the love of her life, Matt. Daisy has decided she wants to go to college, instead of her school’s sixth form because she’s had about enough of life there, despite having some great friends. Daisy expects college to be an amazing experience. She expects to be a social butterfly, but it doesn’t quite happen for her. Daisy does meet Toby, an incredibly good looking guy who shows an interest in her. She falls for him quickly, although she’s never quite sure she’s over Matt. Toby isn’t what he seems though.

I have to say, Rachel McIntyre is fabulous at writing character’s that you really don’t like. I could not get on with Toby from the very beginning, but I liked that I didn’t like him. He was incredibly arrogant and controlling. I wanted to grab Daisy and shake her. She was frustrating with the way she allowed herself to be controlled by Toby. I hated that he seemed to be trying to change the way she looked, the food she ate etc. Urgh, he was just annoying! Yet, I also felt frustrated that Daisy still went back to him, despite promising her good friends she wouldn’t.

I did like how, although the girl characters did have disagreements, they stuck together and followed the rules they made in their younger years which gave the message of not changing for anyone. That’s a strong, important message for everybody-which I really appreciated.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!- although I do believe it will divide many readers.

An easy to read book- although the main character may frustrate!

2 thoughts on “The Number One Rule For Girls

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

