Ten Books I Enjoyed Recently That Weren’t My Typical Type of Book

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list is all about the books we’ve read recently that were outside of our usual

In no particular order, here are my favourite recent-ish outside of my comfort zone reads!

Bad Girls Don’t Die- Katie Alender

Bad Girls Don't Die (Bad Girls Don't Die, #1)

I’m not usually a fan of spooky, creepy reads. Especially when it comes to dolls. Ha! I absolutely adored this book. It’s not terrifying, more creepy. It didn’t give me nightmares which I’m very pleased about.

The Haunting- Alex Bell

The Haunting

Again, a creepy one. I absolutely loved this book. I actually preferred it to Frozen Charlotte which was also a brilliant read.

Through The Woods- Emily Carroll

Through the Woods

This was my first creepy graphic novel. I loved it. Not all of the stories are as good as each other, but it was still an enjoyable, eerie read.

Anna Dressed In Blood- Kendare Blake

Anna Dressed in Blood (Anna, #1)

Ooh, look another creepy one! I loved this ghostly tale.

Ten Tiny Breaths- K.A Tucker

Ten Tiny Breaths (Ten Tiny Breaths, #1)

I had been avoiding this book for a while because I had heard mixed things around it. I’m not a massive fan of the genre but I was pleasantly surprised by this book-despite the ending.

Lighter Than My Shadow- Katie Green

Lighter than My Shadow

I would usually read a book about an eating disorder, but this was a graphic novel. It was incredible.

El Deafo- Cece Bell

El Deafo

I am stepping into middle grade more nowadays, but I would say this is middle grade/graphic novel/memoir which is certainly an interesting combination!

Percy Jackson and The Lightning Thief- Rick Riordan

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1)

I didn’t think I’d like this book, but I found myself sucked into the world!

Born Weird- Andrew Kaufman

Born Weird

I don’t think I would have picked this book up, had it not been for my Reading Spa in Bath. I’m so glad I did though!

Always Emily- Michaela MacColl

Always Emily

I’m not the biggest classical literature fan, so I didn’t expect to like this book.

What books have surprised you recently? Feel free to leave a link to your Top Ten post and I’ll stop by!

46 thoughts on “Ten Books I Enjoyed Recently That Weren’t My Typical Type of Book

  1. I loved Through the Woods! But I agree some stories weren’t as good as others. Bad Girls Don’t Die sounds amazing. I will have to check that out. And I have The Haunting to read so I’m glad to hear that you thought it was better than Frozen Charlotte (which I loved!) I like the sound of Always Emily too. Great list!

    Happy Reading
    Rachel @ Paein-and-Ms4Tune

  2. I want to read Bad Girls Don’t Die! Unfortunately I still don’t have a copy of it so it might have to wait, but I’m glad to see that you enjoyed it. It makes me want to pick it up sooner 🙂

  3. Pingback: Ten Books I Enjoyed Recently That Weren’t My Typical Type of Book | The Thirst of Tantalus

  4. Never read the Percy Jackson books, but I did just pick up the DVD. It looks like a fun adventure series. 🙂

    Thanks so much for visiting Dreaming Under the Same Moon, Chrissi.

  5. Goodness, I haven’t read any of these! I feel like either I don’t read out of my comfort zone often, or I don’t HAVE a comfort zone, or maybe I read out of it all the time and don’t notice? I don’t know, I couldn’t do this because it was HARD. I think the only book that I have read and enjoyed lately that I was wary of was Illuminae, because it sounded so sci-fi spacey, that I was scared.I am going to have to check out some of the books on your list though! Especially Anna Dressed in Blood, I have heard good things!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

