The Sin Eater’s Daughter (The Sin Eater’s Daughter #1)

The Sin Eater's Daughter (The Sin Eater's Daughter, #1)

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

I am the perfect weapon.
I kill with a single touch.

Twylla is blessed. The Gods have chosen her to marry a prince, and rule the kingdom. But the favour of the Gods has it’s price. A deadly poison infuses her skin. Those who anger the queen must die under Twylla’s fatal touch.

Only Lief, an outspoken new guard, can see past Twylla’s chilling role to the girls she truly is.

Yet in a court as dangerous and the queen’s, some truths should not be told…

Thoughts:

I didn’t really know what to expect when I went into reading this book. I had heard some amazingly positive comments and some mixed comments too. For this book, I stayed away from reviews, because I wanted to go into reading it without knowing much about it. I’m pleased that I did this because I think it enhanced my reading experience.

The concept for this young adult fantasy novel is intriguing. It’s about a girl named Twylla who has been chosen by the Gods to kill traitors with a single touch. I was immediately intrigued by that concept. Twylla is a Sin Eater’s daughter. I don’t want to go into too much about the Sin Eater’s, I don’t want to spoil this story for anyone yet to read it. However, I think it’s a great idea. Twylla’s path is revealed to her- she must be the Royal executioner- touching traitors and killing them. Twylla is set to marry the Prince and become the future Queen, but there are certainly obstacles in the way.

I thought the plot was very interesting and captivating, although I don’t think it was as fantasy as I was expecting it to be. I think the reason I enjoyed this book so much was it felt quite fairy tale-esque and if you’re a regular reader of my blog, you’ll know that I love books with that kind of vibe!

I have to admit, I wasn’t expecting there to be as much romance in the book as there was. Some of the romance is a little predictable but there are some good twists in the story nonetheless. I think The Sin Eater’s Daughter is a good debut, and I look forward to reading the next book, hopefully soon!

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

A wonderful debut. I can’t wait to read more from this author!

9 thoughts on “The Sin Eater’s Daughter (The Sin Eater’s Daughter #1)

  1. When reviews started coming in for this one, I was surprised. It was either LOVE or DNF but the premise sounds like something I would enjoy. Maybe I will wait a little bit before reading it so I can go in blind. 🙂

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

