Ten Characters I Love To Hate

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. I got really stuck with the prompt today, so I decided to put my own spin on it and write about ten characters I love to hate!

Bella SwanTwilight– I can’t help but enjoy complaining about Bella. She’s just so dull and moany. I don’t think I ever identified with her when reading Twilight. I don’t think I ever will like her!

Dolores UmbridgeHarry Potter-Ooh, she’s a bad one. I loved hating Umbridge. She made my skin crawl.

VoldemortHarry Potter– He truly is one of my favourite villains. I adore hating him.

Lucius MalfoyHarry Potter– Lucius is a great character to hate. He’s smarmy and irritating.

President SnowThe Hunger Games– As you might have guessed by now, I do love to hate a villain and in The Hunger Games it was President Snow who I loved to hate.

Estella HavishamGreat Expectations– Miss Havisham is a pretty good character to hate as well, but I loved to hare Estella more. Her attitude towards men was despicable and I hated the way she treated Pip!

Amy Dunne Gone Girl– I’m always surprised how strongly I hate Amy. She is one of the best written characters in a thriller. It’s weirdly fun yet equally creepy to be her mind or at least try and understand her.

Amy MarchLittle Women– Amy always irritates me. She’s so selfish. Yet I don’t mind reading about her selfishness.

Daniel CleaverBridget Jones’ Diary– He’s a player. He’s horrible. However he’s fun to read about and I can’t help but love to hate him!

Holden CaulfieldThe Catcher In The Rye-I definitely have a love/hate relationship with Holden Caulfield. I find him insufferable, but at the same time love him for it!

Who made your list this week? Feel free to leave a link to your post and I’ll stop by!

37 thoughts on “Ten Characters I Love To Hate

  1. I feel like your list is fair.. Because we are supposed to hate those characters. I loved how awful Amy was in Gone Girl. It was great how much she fooled me. 👍

  2. I’m pretty sure Bella Swan made a lot of lists today. I love and hate her too. Still, it’s one of my favorite series. The supporting characters saved that series for me. Admittedly, I really only like Eclipse and the last half of Breaking Dawn.

  3. I love how you switched the prompt up. I had a hard time too. And so so much yes to the characters on your list especially Daniel Cleaver and Amy March…and all your Harry Potter characters!

  4. Oh man, this is a great list!! I also LOVE to hate Umbridge. I even hate her more than Voldemort!! Amy Dunne too. She’s SO terrible, that it’s awesome!!! I can’t with Amy from Little Women though…. BYE GIRL. It is sometimes fun to read about cringe-worthy characters (like Bella). The more annoying they are, it almost becomes comical the amount of eye-rolling I feel like doing 🙂

  5. Yes to President Snow. He’s downright horrible but the dynamic between him and Katniss was like a game of chess which made it intriguing. Alma Coin on the other hand is someone I just hate.

  6. Man I hate Holden Caulfield. And there is none of this love to hate stuff. I really, really don’t like him. That was not the best book anyway, in my opinion. I do love villains though and President Snow is a guy I love to hate. He is just so fun to watch!

  7. I like the spin! It’s a great list 🙂 I am glad to know I am not the only one who isn’t a fan of Amy and her selfish whining, though it’s interesting to see that it doesn’t bug you!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

