Radio Silence

Radio Silence

How did I get it?:
NetGalley- thanks to Harper Collins UK

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Solitaire

Synopsis:

What if everything you set yourself up to be was wrong?

Frances has always been a study machine with one goal, elite university. Nothing will stand in her way; not friends, not a guilty secret – not even the person she is on the inside.

But when Frances meets Aled, the shy genius behind her favourite podcast, she discovers a new freedom. He unlocks the door to Real Frances and for the first time she experiences true friendship, unafraid to be herself. Then the podcast goes viral and the fragile trust between them is broken.

Caught between who she was and who she longs to be, Frances’ dreams come crashing down. Suffocating with guilt, she knows that she has to confront her past…
She has to confess why Carys disappeared…

Meanwhile at uni, Aled is alone, fighting even darker secrets.

It’s only by facing up to your fears that you can overcome them. And it’s only by being your true self that you can find happiness.

Frances is going to need every bit of courage she has.

Thoughts:

There was massive buzz around Solitaire when it came out. The book felt like it was everywhere! Whilst I thoroughly enjoyed Alice’s debut, I think that Radio Silence was a great book which really captured my attention. It is completely different to Alice’s debut, but in a very good way.

Radio Silence centres around Frances who is a diligent head girl, determined to attend Cambridge University. Frances has been working hard for years, but she’s been hiding a secret. Frances is a secret fangirl of a YouTube series called Universe City. Frances is unexpectedly asked to provide fan art for the series. Frances uncovers who is behind Universe City and is surprised to find that it’s somone she knows. He’s the best friend of the head boy at her school and the twin of her former best friend! Radio Silence follows Frances and Aled as they go through some tough times together as they transition to the next step in their lives.

I really liked Radio Silence because it wasn’t focused on romance. I loved following the characters. They felt so real as well. They went through the same drama most young adults do, which made it highly relatable. I also really enjoyed how it promoted the message that university isn’t for everyone and that it’s okay to feel that way. I think all too often school, college, university is promoted and academia really isn’t got everyone! I took a break before I went to university and even if it took me longer to get where I am now, I highly valued the life experience I gained in the meantime.

Would I recommend it?
Of course!

A wonderful, thought-provoking read!

6 thoughts on “Radio Silence

  1. I remember seeing the cover for this one. It sounds really interesting, and unique, which is a must for any novel. And when a reader finds that, it’s all the more enjoyable. 🙂

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

