Flawed (Flawed #1)

Flawed

How did I get it?:
NetGalley- thanks to Harper Collins UK

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Every Year
How To Fall In Love

Synopsis:

Celestine North lives a perfect life. She’s a model daughter and sister, she’s well-liked by her classmates and teachers, and she’s dating the impossibly charming Art Crevan.

But then Celestine encounters a situation in which she makes an instinctive decision. She breaks a rule and now faces life-changing repercussions. She could be imprisoned. She could be branded. She could be found FLAWED.

In this stunning novel, bestselling author Cecelia Ahern depicts a society in which perfection is paramount and mistakes are punished. And where one young woman decides to take a stand that could cost her everything.

Thoughts:

I have been a long time fan of Cecelia Ahern’s writing. She is easily one of my favourite authors. I have read all of her full length novels (albeit most of it preblogging days!) I was a little worried about her stepping into the world of YA, but at the same time immediately intrigued. She’s an amazing writer. I feel like Flawed is a step in a new direction for Cecelia. This book felt dystopian in its plot!

Flawed centres around a young girl who is seemingly perfect. She’s well-liked, she has a perfect boyfriend and she’s bright. However, one day Celestine makes an error in judgment, she dares to help someone that is seen as ‘flawed’ by society. This means that she will be punished and potentially marked as ‘flawed’ herself. The world in which Celestine lives in is scary. Everyone has to be perfect and there are severe punishments for those that don’t fit the perfect mould.

This book isn’t the most original, it does have some similarities to other books, yet I still found it to be highly enjoyable. I liked Celestine as a character and liked that what she stood for was morally correct even if in her society it really wasn’t the right thing to do. I really liked how Cecelia was brave enough to put her main character in horrific situations.

I’m used to Cecelia and her magical, fairy tale-esque elements in some of her stories, but this was so far away from what I’m used to. I appreciated that! I’m certainly intrigued to see where this series goes. It has much potential.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

Flawed isn’t the most original book, but it is very enjoyable nonetheless!

6 thoughts on “Flawed (Flawed #1)

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

