I Don’t Want To Be Crazy

I Don't Want To Be Crazy

How did I get it?
I bought it!

Synopsis:

This is a true story of growing up, breaking down, and coming to grips with a psychological disorder. When Samantha Schutz first left home for college, she was excited by the possibilities — freedom from parents, freedom from a boyfriend who was reckless with her affections, freedom from the person she was supposed to be. At first, she revelled in the independence … but as pressures increased , she began to suffer anxiety attacks that would leave her mentally shaken and physically incapacitated. Thus began a hard road of discovery and coping, powerfully rendered in this poetry memoir.

Thoughts:

I have been meaning to get around to this book for quite some time now. I feel like I have a bit of a connection with it as I personally suffer from anxiety. Having such a connection can really affect my opinion of a book, especially if mental health isn’t presented in a ‘real’ way. I wasn’t worried about this as Samantha Schutz’s story is a true story.

Reading I Don’t Want To Be Crazy feels like you’re creeping in on someone’s personal diary. Samantha writes with raw honesty. You really feel as a reader that you’re experiencing what it is like to suffer with anxiety. The descriptions are really relatable and true to those that suffer with anxiety.

This book is written in verse and I think it’s really interesting to read it in this way. I don’t think the verse really showed how powerful words can be, but at the same time, it came across as incredibly honest and to the point. That’s what you want. As a reader I want the mental health stigma to ease and for mental health to be recognised and understood more. This is why I appreciated the book!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

It won’t be for everyone, but I think this is a really honest look at mental health.

6 thoughts on “I Don’t Want To Be Crazy

  1. I read this a LONG time ago. Actually right after I had my son, so that’s 8 years!! It was my first verse book and I really appreciated that. I agree with you that this being a true story definitely took my fear that it would FEEL real out of it. Great review 🙂

  2. This sounds like a great book and it’s definitely going on my TBR list. The style in particular sounds fascinating – is it all in verse or is some of the book in prose?

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

