Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit- The Boy In The Dress

The Boy in the Dress

How did I get it?:
I borrowed it from Beth!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Gangsta Granny

Synopsis:

Dennis was different. Why was he different, you ask? Well, a small clue might be in the title of this book! Charming, surprising and hilarious — The Boy in the Dress is everything you would expect from the co-creator of Little Britain. David Walliams’s beautiful first novel will touch the hearts (and funny bones) of children and adults alike.

Thoughts:

This book is BRILLIANT! I enjoyed reading Gangsta Granny last year as part of the kid-lit challenge, so I was thrilled when David Walliams made a comeback for this feature. I absolutely adored The Boy In The Dress. It’s a wonderfully touching, funny and beautiful story at the same time. This really is a fantastic debut.

I know there’s a lot of focus on Dennis being a cross-dresser, but what I think is lovely about this book is the fact that David Walliams really shows the audience that there is absolutely nothing wrong with wanting to wear a dress if you want to wear a dress! That’s such an important message to bring. I also really enjoyed how Dennis was a great footballer. A great footballer who likes to cross dress! You smash those stereotypes!

David Walliams writes so well. There are so many funny moments. I can totally understand and get on board with the comparison to one of my childhood favourites Roald Dahl. If anyone knows me at all, they’ll know that’s a huge statement for me to make as I was obsessed with Roald Dahl books growing up and I’ve read a lot of his books to my class. If they were a year older then I’d definitely read them David Walliams.

I love how David Walliams brings himself to the story as well. I think little comments that will go over the heads of children actually make this book such a great book to read for ANY age. There’s certainly something for everyone in my opinion.

For Beth’s brilliant review, please check out her blog HERE.

Would I recommend it?:
Without a doubt!

Next up in the Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit Challenge (April):
Noble Conflict- Malorie Blackman

6 thoughts on “Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit- The Boy In The Dress

  1. I’ve never heard of this and initially thought it was a Roald Dahl book, but, no, just Blake illustrating. It looks like an interesting read, though!

  2. Pingback: Beth And Chrissi Do Kid-Lit 2016 – MARCH READ – The Boy In The Dress by David Walliams | bibliobeth

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

