Ten Books That Every Teacher Should Read Or Have In Their Classroom

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list are ten books we think a certain person should read. I decided to think about books that I think every teacher should read. That might be for the teacher to read for themselves or to have a copy in their classroom.

In no particular order here are the books that I picked (images go to Goodreads!)

The Reason I Jump- Naoki Higashida

The Reason I Jump: The Inner Voice of a Thirteen-Year-Old Boy with Autism

This book is a must for teachers who experience teaching a child with autism. It really opened my eyes. I recommend it to teachers and others. It’s just so honest. I adore it.

The Curious Incident of The Dog In The Night Time-Mark Haddon

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

I really enjoy this book and I think it brings with it a beautiful message which is important for those involved in education. It’s not just about Asperger’s. It has more to that. It’s interesting to see the world from a child’s eyes.

To Kill A Mockingbird- Harper Lee

To Kill a Mockingbird

I just think this is a really important book to read as an educator. It teaches about inequality and prejudice. Urgh, I love it!

I Am Malala- Malala Yousafzai

I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban

I am yet to read this book, but I have been suggested it by so many education professionals that I felt justified to put it on my TBR list and this list!

Books for the classroom

Elmer- David McKee

Elmer

I love the message of Elmer. Celebrating differences. It’s what I’m all about!

The True Story of the 3 Little Pigs by Jon Sczieska

The True Story of the 3 Little Pigs

I adore this book (so do my class!) about the 3 Little Pigs from the wolf’s point of view!

El Deafo- Cece Bell

El Deafo

I really enjoyed this graphic novel which is perfect for middle grade readers. I thought it celebrated diversity beautifully.

Matilda- Roald Dahl

Matilda

One of my favourites. Every classroom should have Roald Dahl in them.

The Huge Bag Of Worries- Virginia Ironside

The Huge Bag Of Worries (Big Books)

I loved using this book with our class, it helped them think about their worries and how they’d address them.

Oh, The Places You’ll Go- Dr Seuss

Oh, The Places You'll Go!

I absolutely adore this book. I’m hoping to read it to my class nearer the end of the school year to inspire them on their next journey!

What have you done for your Top Ten list this week? Feel free to leave a link to your post and I’ll stop by! 🙂

50 thoughts on “Ten Books That Every Teacher Should Read Or Have In Their Classroom

  1. I’ve yet to read To Kill a Mocking Bird, but I’ve heard great things about it. It’s sad that the mass market edition is canned. I wonder how it will affect future generations.

  2. Oooooo I love your list this week. I was obsessed with Elma as a kid, best children’s book character ever! I have lost count of the amount of people I have bought Oh, The Places You’ll Go for. They make great graduation/travelling the world/moving out of parents house etc presents.
    I only read The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by chance when I was younger, as I saw a girl that I was massive jealous of at the time reading it and so HAD to have it myself. But then I started reading it and fell in love with it. I just recently watched the play too, wow was that incredible!
    Love your list, I hope you managed to get some of these in your classroom because they are all fantastic books 🙂

    • Thanks Hannah. I really do think Oh, The Places You’ll Go is a fantastic read. I’m so pleased to read that you enjoyed the play of The Curious Incident, I was wondering whether I should go and see it!

  3. ELMER!! I remember reading that book in school. Oh how I loved that elephant. To Kill a Mockingbird will always be one of my all time favourites. I have The Curious Incident of The Dog In The Night Time sitting on my shelf but I’ve yet to read it yet. Hopefully I can get to it sometime this year. 😀

  4. Matilda was a book that my 4th grade teacher read to my class and I immediately went out and bought to book so I could read it over and over again at home. It was one of my first FAVORITE books. I definitely would agree that every class should have something by Roald Dahl…. he’s too good not to.

  5. “Mockingbird” is a classic, but well, I’ll confess I’ve never much been interested. Goes to show you how bad I am about reading classic lit. 😉

    Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland, Chrissi.

  6. I love this list 🙂 Brings back so many memories! I am Malala is amazing, To Kill A Mockingbird is too! Dr Seuss and Roal Dahl are authors I used to enjoy a lot when I was a child 😉 And Elmer is a classic children story that every child loves! Much like the book the “Rainbow Fish” which is an amazing story and the message it conveys is heartwarming 🙂

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

