The Other Life (The Other Life #1)

The Other Life (The Other Life, #1)

How did I get it?:
It was a gift!

Synopsis:

3 years, 1 month, 1 week and 6 days since I’d seen daylight. One-fifth of my life. 98,409,602 seconds since the heavy, steel door had fallen shut and sealed us off from the world.

Sherry has lived with her family in a sealed bunker since things went wrong up above. But when they run out of food, Sherry and her dad must venture outside. There they find a world of devastation, desolation…and the Weepers: savage, mutant killers.

When Sherry’s dad is snatched, she joins forces with gorgeous but troubled Joshua – an Avenger, determined to destroy the Weepers.

But can Sherry keep her family and Joshua safe, when his desire for vengeance threatens them all?

Thoughts:

I had heard about The Other Life through my favourite meme Top Ten Tuesday. I was curious about the book, so I added it to my TBR. I was lucky enough to get a copy as a present from another blogger. I’ve finally found time to read it and I’m pleased that I did. I didn’t realise that this was part of a series, but I am definitely intrigued enough to continue reading.

The Other Life is a dystopian story which is set in Los Angeles. Los Angeles has been infected by rabies and people were advised to hide until they were told to come out for their own safety. Several years has past and there was still no word from the government. Sherry and her family have run out of food, her grandfather has died and their situation is becoming desperate. Sherry and her father decide to go outside of the bunker and try to find food. They find devastation outside. Eventually, Sherry and her father find a store and decide to stock up for the family. However, Sherry and her father are attacked by Weepers, with Sherry’s father being taken away. A guy named Joshua takes Sherry back to a safe haven, promising her that she’d be reunited with ther family and that they’d find her father.

I thought that The Other Life was incredibly compelling. It certainly was a horrible world to imagine and I think Susanne has brilliantly set up the world. The Weepers really are quite gruesome. The plot is fast and it’s easy to read. It kept me turning the pages wondering what on earth was going to happen next! As I said, I didn’t realise that this was going to be part of a series, but I’m excited to see what happens next. I thought that this was an incredibly accomplished debut novel and I’m intrigued to see where Susanne takes this story next.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

A good YA dystopian read!

4 thoughts on “The Other Life (The Other Life #1)

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

