The Year We Fell Apart

The Year We Fell Apart

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

Few things come as naturally to Harper as epic mistakes. In the past year she was kicked off the swim team, earned a reputation as Carson High’s easiest hook-up, and officially became the black sheep of her family. But her worst mistake was destroying her relationship with her best friend, Declan.

Now, after two semesters of silence, Declan is home from boarding school for the summer. Everything about him is different—he’s taller, stronger…more handsome. Harper has changed, too, especially in the wake of her mom’s cancer diagnosis.

While Declan wants nothing to do with Harper, he’s still Declan, her Declan, and the only person she wants to talk to about what’s really going on. But he’s also the one person she’s lost the right to seek comfort from.

As their mutual friends and shared histories draw them together again, Harper and Declan must decide which parts of their past are still salvageable, and which parts they’ll have to let go of once and for all.

Thoughts:

I went into this book thinking that it was going to be a total weeper. I thought that because when I first looked into this book, I had heard about it being centred around Harper’s mum’s illness. However, The Year We Fell Apart, is more about Harper’s awful year and the bad decisions she makes, alongside her mum being ill. I did enjoy reading this debut novel, but if I’m being entirely honest, I expected more from it.

The Year We Fell Apart centres around Harper, who has had a horrendous summer that she regrets as it has given her a ‘name.’ Harper misses Declan, a boy that she had a close friendship and at one time relationship with. Declan has been away, but has returned for a bit. As Declan is friends with Cory, Harper’s friend, they’ve been spending a lot of time together, which is awkward but they’re slowly getting their friendship back on track. Harper wants to confide in Declan, as he lost his mother when he was younger, and she thinks she should speak to him about her mum’s diagnosis. There’s a lot of angst as Harper tries to hide the silly decisions she makes. Declan wants to see the girl he used to know, not the new version of Harper.

I have to admit, I didn’t really like Harper as a character. I felt bad about that, as she was clearly going through a tough time, but I found her to be a tad self absorbed. She’s definitely a character that people will want to smack some sense into! Declan was a sweetie though and lovely to read about.

This is a good contemporary and it is well written. I just think I went in with way too high expectations!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes! 3.5 stars

A promising debut! This book is great for fans of contemporary YA!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

