Comparing ‘Follow Me Back’ by Nicci Cloke

Follow Me Back

How did I get it?:
Received from publisher, thanks to Hot Key Books

Synopsis:

There was no sign of a struggle, they whisper to each other. She took her phone but left her laptop behind.

Apparently, she’d met someone online, they write to each other in class, phones buzzing.
She ran away. She was taken.

The first time Aiden Kendrick hears about Lizzie Summersall’s disappearance is when the police appear at his front door. He and Lizzie used to be friends; they aren’t anymore. And when Aiden finds out that Lizzie had been talking to strangers on Facebook; that the police think she went to meet one of them, he begins to wonder how well he ever really knew her, and Aiden doesn’t know it yet, but with Lizzie’s disappearance his life is about to take a twisted and desperate turn.

Thoughts before you started reading Follow Me Back?

CHRISSI: It looked really interesting and I love books based around social media.
LUNA: The premise sounded intriguing so I was looking forward to this.

What did you think of Aiden?

CHRISSI: I wasn’t a fan. I couldn’t find anything to really like about him. That doesn’t always bother me, I don’t NEED to like a character. But at the same time, I usually need to somewhat understand them, but Aiden just seemed forgettable to me.
LUNA: Normally I love unreliable narrators but there was no connection to Aiden.

Best bit?

CHRISSI: I liked how everything came together.
LUNA: The ending is quite intense.

Worst bit?

CHRISSI: I think the worst bit for me was that I just couldn’t connect to the story. There wasn’t really a character who I could really find myself liking. That makes the book as a whole really hard to connect with and enjoy.

LUNA: Follow Me Back did not work for me. I liked the premise but I feel like this book night have worked better a few years ago when the world as whole was still more naïve about online ‘friendships’. Also I didn’t care about Lizzie’s disappearance because I don’t know Lizzie or why everyone loves her.

The fact that more POVs are added to the story later was a good way to have more depth to Lizzie and what was going on, but for me, I didn’t think these new voices sounded that much different to Aiden’s.

Favourite character/moment?

CHRISSI: I enjoyed how everything came together at the end.
LUNA: I liked Aiden’s best friend Scobie at the beginning of the story.

Was Follow Me Back what you expected?

CHRISSI: Unfortunately not!
LUNA: Not really.

Would you recommend it?

CHRISSI: It’s not for me. It really didn’t work for me.
LUNA: Honestly I don’t think so, which is a real shame because it sounded great.

5 thoughts on “Comparing ‘Follow Me Back’ by Nicci Cloke

  1. Just from reading Luna’s post. Great post and I love the idea of putting your views together. The book has a promising synopsis, too bad it ended up disappointing both of you.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

