Top Ten Bookish Delights

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list is about our Top Ten Bookish Delights. I found this topic great fun!

The smell of a new book

My family are quite used to me opening a book and smelling it. It’s just a natural reaction for me. It’s immediate. I LOVE that smell.

Pretty covers

I’m not going to hide it. I love a pretty cover. I judge books by their covers. I can’t help it. I’m not sorry.

Bright page edges

I love it when books have pretty page edges- especially if they’re really vibrant!

Having a bookworm blogging sister

My sister is the best. She read to me when I was younger, we regularly discuss books, we collaborate together and she’s a book blogger too. She is definitely one of my favourite bookish delights. You can find her HERE.

Reading to my class

I am a primary school teacher. I teach 6-7 year olds. I have read so many books to them so far this year. They adore Roald Dahl. I just love the awe and wonder on their faces. ❤

Finding a new favourite author

I just love that warm and fuzzy feeling when you KNOW you’ve found a new favourite author. I’ve had that so much since I started blogging. To name a few… Alison Rattle, Emma Carroll, Patrick Ness and Emery Lord ❤

Reading in coffee shops

One of my favourite things to do when I meet up with my sister is to find a lovely coffee shop and after chatter/food… get stuck into reading. I love that so many shops are so welcoming to us bookworms!

Snuggling up with a book on a cold day

I like reading in all weathers, but I especially like putting on pyjamas, grabbing a blanket and getting stuck into a REAL book.

Reading in the sun

As I said, I like reading in all weathers, but I adore reading out in the sunshine. On a recent holiday I tore through so many books because I just find reading in the sun one of the most relaxing things ever!

Mr B’s Emporium of  Reading Delights-

This bookshop in Bath is simply beautiful. I was lucky enough to have a reading spa a while back which you can read about here. My sister and I are going to return there this summer for another go! 😀

Feel free to leave a link to your post about your favourite bookish delights!

51 thoughts on “Top Ten Bookish Delights

  1. Love a new book smell, but dust from old books totally bothers my allergies, so I don’t really make a habit of smelling books.
    Pretty covers when the insides are also amazing are also awesome! Great list.

  2. Great list! I can relate to so many of these. Smelling my books is just a requirement. I also love reading in coffee shops too, I don’t know what it is but I just feel so at home there. And I always reading out in the sun when I can which isn’t very often in Scotland.

    My TTT

  3. I’m totally with you on pretty covers and page edges. If only all books have colorful page edges. You’re lucky your sister is a bookworm blogger too. My sister finally makes it her resolution to read more this year. Nice list! 🙂

  4. I’m always reading about Mr B’s Emporium of Reading Delights in the Bookseller, and I’m a little jealous (in a really happy way, it’s confusing) that you’ve been/are going! And I relate to having a bookish sister; mine wasn’t a blogger but she was just as enthusiastic about books as me, and it’s really the best thing ever 🙂

  5. I think most readers judge books by their covers. The covers are the first impression we get of the book so naturally we’re going to be drawn to the effective ones haha.
    I also love reading in coffee shops. I just love the atmosphere you get there. Plus you’re never short of coffee haha.

  6. I totally agree about Mr B’s Emporium. Considering I live in Bath, I really don’t go in there enough! It’s such a lovely book shop. And reading in coffee shops is just my favourite thing. It’s just so cosy. 🙂

  7. I agree with all of these points 🙂 I think it is great losing yourself in a book with the hustle and bustle of life running around you in a coffee shop 🙂 great list

  8. Having a bookworm sister is one of the best things ever! My sister and I would often tell one another about the books we were reading before going to bed, since we shared a room growing up.;)
    New books smells are amazing!

  9. Reading in a coffee shop! That’s a great one! I am also a book sniffer (and proud!). I wish that my sisters were more bookish. One of my sister does normally try out the books that I get sent to review, but she never wants to talk about them, she’s just like “yeah, it was really good”.
    I wish I lived near Mr B’s Emporium because your reading spa sounds amazing! So jealous! Great list 🙂

  10. Pretty book covers!? Snuggling up with a good book!? Finding a new favorite author!? All of this = SO MUCH YES! Fun list, Chrissi. 🙂 As always, thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland. 🙂

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

