The Accidental Life Of Greg Millar

The Accidental Life Of Greg Millar

How did I get it?:
NetGalley- thanks to Lake Union Publishing

Previously reviewed by the same author (author writing under pseudnoym)
And By The Way
And For Your Information
And Actually
Checkout Girl

Synopsis:

Lucy Arigho’s first encounter with Greg Millar is far from promising, but she soon realises he possesses a charm that is impossible to resist. Just eight whirlwind weeks after their first meeting, level-headed career girl Lucy is seriously considering his pleas to marry him and asking herself if she could really be stepmother material.

But before Lucy can make a final decision about becoming part of Greg’s world, events plunge her right into it. On holiday in the South of France, things start to unravel. Her future stepchildren won’t accept her, the interfering nanny resents her, and they’re stuck in a heat wave that won’t let up. And then there’s Greg. His behaviour becomes increasingly bizarre and Lucy begins to wonder whether his larger-than-life personality hides something darker—and whether she knows him at all.

Thoughts:

I was asked to review this book by the author who kindly sent me a copy to read via NetGalley. I really enjoy the author’s writing, so I snapped up a copy. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I have to admit, I thought the beginning was a little slow, which is why I didn’t rate it 4 stars. However, it’s so worth reading. I was really impressed with how the author tackled the issues. It seemed incredibly true to life.

I also have to admit, that when I started this book, I thought it was going to be a typical woman’s fiction romance. However, there’s much more to this book than first meets the eye. It centres around Lucy, who has recently lost her partner because of a road accident. One day on her way to work she encounters a man driving like an idiot. It turns out that he’s Greg Millar, a famous author who is about to start working with Lucy, on a design for his newest book. Greg infuriates Lucy to start with, but his charm soon starts to work on her. Lucy and Greg get swept up in an intense romance. Greg’s life is complicated. He is also mourning his wife and mother of his children. He’s also hiding a secret, which will soon be revealed to Lucy.

After a slower start, this book really did grip me. I didn’t know if I was going to get on with it, because it did seem a little insta-lovey. Keep with it though. It’s worth it. The story becomes incredibly dark, and I was questioning what would happen next.

This is the first book that I’ve read from the author that is under the name of Aimee Alexander and I was impressed with character development. Aimee has created some amazing characters. I really liked some, felt for others and absolutely detested other characters. This isn’t to say that I didn’t like the book, I did! I just loved to hate the character Hilary. You’ll understand my rage if you decide to pick this up-which I highly recommend if you’re into adult fiction!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!- 3.5 stars (soooo close to 4 stars!)

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

