Chrissi Chat: Let’s talk content…

Yes, it’s time for another chatty, non-book related post. I’ve been thinking a lot about my blog content recently. I love taking part in the Top Ten memes and love the collaborations I’m doing. But I wonder if it’s all getting a bit stale? I mean, I still enjoy blogging, but I’m wondering if my blog is still interesting to read.

I’ve never really been one for cover reveals, nothing against them (of course), but for me they’re not what I love to put out. I think the most important thing about blogging is being really interested in the content you produce. I personally really enjoy posts which you can tell a lot of thought has gone into.

During my teacher training year I really enjoyed putting out a diary entry every Sunday, it was also well received with some people still reading those posts now. I’m considering going back to a diary/teacher life post, but then I’m worried that the identity of my blog will change and I may lose people who only want to read about books. Now I’m not saying that I want a complete revamp. My blog will always be a book blog. I’m just considering the options I have…

What do you think? Should blogs stick to one subject so it’s obvious what it’s about? Should we change up our blogs to keep it fresh? Let me know!

17 thoughts on “Chrissi Chat: Let’s talk content…

  1. Well, I think that it’s your blog, and if you want to expand what you’re talking about, I would love to know and read those posts 🙂 if people are just interested about books, they might as well just read your posts about that 🙂 I do talk about books and travel on my blog, and I’m happy for the change a bit, because those two things are what I love the most, and even if my blog name has books in it, well… I decided in the end that I wanted to talk about what I loved 🙂

    • Thank you Marie 🙂 It’s nice to know that you’d want to read posts that aren’t about books. I will never go away from talking about books on here! After all I have a huge passion for reading!

  2. I think you should do whatever makes you happy. If you try to force yourself to write about something you aren’t really passionate about, it shows.

  3. I may be biased as your sister but as I blog also I thought I’d let you know my thoughts. 😉
    I think you should do whatever you want and I did enjoy reading your PGCE posts when you did them! At the end of the day, do what makes you happy, write about whatever is in your heart and at least you’ll always have me to read them, although I’m sure many others will as well. 😘 Xx

    • Thank you! 🙂 I shall definitely think about bringing my ‘diary’ entries back, that’s the only thing I’m really thinking about changing about the blogging schedule. I just feel it gives a better sense of me, to have some posts about my teacher life!

  4. When it dawned on me to choose specific content for my blog, I decide on just one motto. Share what you’d love to read first. Currently, I do read some meme posts, however, discussion posts and book reviews are my thing. So, that’s how it works out for me. It is bound to change. However, one thing for sure. I am not a big fan of a cluttered blog with almost everything out there. A blog too should speak about who you are and where your interest lies in. Also, it should not turn from a wonderful activity for pleasure to a chore. So, keep it simple and your way!
    P.S. Huge fan of your reviews!
    You might know me well for that. Now you do know the reason 😉

    Have a Good Day Chrissi!

    With Love,
    Yours
    Warisha

  5. I’ve never written before, but I read everything you post and enjoy all if it so much. You need to write about those things that matter most, but I sincerely hope the reviews will keep coming. They are always refreshing, thoughtful, and wonderfully written. I’ve put my braille display to excellent use reading books you’ve recommended. I’m grateful for the time you’ve put into this, and while I would be eager to read whatever you write here, please keep the always-excellent reviews coming!

    Incidentally, I found your blog because I read a review your sister posted to Goodreads, which brought me to her blog, and from there, it was an easy reach to yours. While I’ll save specific praise for her when I write to her blog, I’m grateful to both you and her for unknowingly doing so much to improve my rading landscape.

    • Hello Nolan 🙂

      Thank you. Your comment has made me smile first thing this morning. I’m so pleased to read that you enjoy my content so much and that Beth and I have given you good recommendations. That’s why we blog. It’s always nice to have such lovely feedback.

      This blog will totally remain a book blog. I love talking about books so much therefore I don’t think that’ll change anytime soon. I might just slip a diary entry in every week.

  6. Chrissi, I think writing about anything that’s meaningful to you will always be successful on your blog! Even if some followers don’t read every single post, I’m sure you won’t lose anyone, and you may gain new followers for your new content and topics.

  7. I definitely know what you mean about memes getting stale — that’s why I only do TTT when I really like the topic and actually want to put together a list. I think content is king and you have to pick what you love. Totally agree about cover reveals and promo posts — I try to steer clear of them. Great discussion!!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

