Ten Books I Picked Up On A Whim

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list are the Top Ten Books We Picked On A Whim. I had to use my Goodreads list to go through this list. Many of my recommendations come from either my sister, book clubs or fellow blog bloggers.

In no particular order (images go to Goodreads)

My Best Friend’s Girl- Dorothy Koomson

My Best Friend's Girl

I picked up this book at an airport several years back. It started my love affair with Dorothy Koomson’s writing. She’s now an autobuy author!

Slumber- Tamara Blake

Slumber

I picked up this book having heard nothing about it and quickly fell in love with its fairy-tale-esque nature!

The Lost Daughter- Diane Chamberlain

The Lost Daughter

I picked up this book on a whim! It ended up being a 5 star read for me.

Memoirs of A Geisha- Arthur Golden

Memoirs of a Geisha

I read this book around the time that it came out. I thought it was an incredibly powerful read.

The Boy With The Cuckoo Clock Heart- Mathias Malzieu

The Boy with the Cuckoo-Clock Heart

I noticed this book on my sister’s shelf. She hadn’t (and still hasn’t) read it yet, so I decided to give it a go. It was very unusual.

Johnny Be Good- Paige Toon

Johnny Be Good (Johnny Be Good, #1)

I really enjoy Paige Toon’s writing. It’s not just chick-lit, there’s depth to it.

Sarah’s Key- Tatiana de Rosnay

Sarah's Key

I bought this when I visited a second hand book shop with my sister Beth. I absolutely adored this book which has stayed with me for quite some time.

The Other Hand- Chris Cleave

The Other Hand

This book is also known as Little Bee. I absolutely lapped it up! I don’t want to say too much about it, as it’ll ruin the story!

The Girl With Glass Feet- Ali Shaw

The Girl With Glass Feet

Again, this is a book that was spotted on my sister’s bookshelf. I’m lucky that she lets me read books before she’s read them! It’s a unique tale. Her edition is so beautiful with silver page edges!

Little Hands Clapping- Dan Rhodes

Little Hands Clapping

This book was certainly picked up on a whim. I didn’t know anything about it. It’s so strange, but funny at the same time!

What books did you pick up on a whim? Feel free to leave a link to your posts and I’ll stop by!

 

57 thoughts on “Ten Books I Picked Up On A Whim

  1. Oooh, I like all the strange titles you have listed! I’m going to have to pick up The Girl with the Glass Feet and the Boy with the Cuckoo Clock Heart and Little Hands Clapping.

    Sarah’s Key was a great book, and probably the first WW2 novel I read that wasn’t set in Germany or the US. Until then I really didn’t have much of an idea what it was like in other countries (well, outside of Austria in Sound of Music, maybe).

    My Top Ten Tuesday

  2. I don’t know much about any of these one. I vaguely know about Sarah’s Key because it was a possible novel choice for my class in high school. (Which admittedly prejudiced me against it, because assigned reading and I have never really gotten along.) I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed it, though!

  3. I love the cover for Slumber. It looks intriguing. Great list, Chrissi. 🙂
    Thank you for stopping by!

  4. I’ve heard a lot of people rave about Memoirs of A Geisha and it’s definitely a book I’m interested in but as always my mood dictates what I read and I’ve yet to be well and truly drawn to the book. Hopefully i’ll get to it one day.

  5. You picked up some awesome books on a whim. The Lost Daughter made my list too. I picked that up in a bookstore one day and ended up loving it, made me go and read everything else Diane Chamberlain had written at the time and now she’s an auto-buy author for me. Oh, you just made me realise I forgot one form my list… DOROTHY KOOMSON! I picked up Goodnight Beautiful by her and that made me buy her other books too, it was so good. Great list 🙂 You can check out my post here.

  6. I’ve added “The Boy with the Cuckoo-Clock Heart” and “The Girl With The Glass Feet” onto my goodreads TBR! They both look great! The only book on your list that I’ve actually read is “Memoirs of a Geisha” – Agreed. Incredibly powerful read!

    My TTT

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

