Comparing ‘Poppy’s Place’ by Katrina Charman

Poppy's Place

Synopsis:

Isla Palmer is CRAZY about cats — SUPER-IN-LOVE crazy — but her vet-nurse mum has never let her have one. Then Isla meets Poppy, a gorgeous cat in need of a loving home, and comes up with the perfect way to convince Mum.

It’s not long before Poppy has transformed life at the Palmers’ – everyone is happier, especially Gran, and even Isla’s older sister Tilda admits she likes having Poppy around. But Poppy isn’t the only one in need of a home and soon their
house is full of cats. With Mum at her wits’ end, Isla needs to come up with a plan and fast!

Thoughts before you started reading Poppy’s Place?

CHRISSI: It looks so cute and it’s something I could add to my classroom at school too. Ha! Always thinking of the job…
LUNA: It looks adorable.

What did you think of Isla?

CHRISSI: She’s a sweet character. I liked that she was cat mad and determined to get her own way!
LUNA: Isla is likable and kind, plus utterly cat mad. There probably isn’t has much character depth as there could be for Isla (or the rest of her family and friends) but I didn’t mind. In a way it’s quite nice to just have a straightforward character profile and for this story it’s suitable.

Best bit?

CHRISSI: It was just utterly cute. The fact that I enjoyed it so much when I’m NOT a cat person says it all really.
LUNA: That’s kind of difficult to answer since I just enjoyed everything about Poppy’s Place from page one. Probably the sheer cuteness of the whole book – plus all the cat moments?

Worst bit?

CHRISSI: I don’t have a worst bit!
LUNA: Nothing, zilch, nadda. I have no complaints. Katrina Charman fulfilled the requirements I was after.

Favourite character/moment?

CHRISSI: Isla’s concern for her Gran. So adorable.
LUNA: Ugh…so many to choose from. I’m going to pick when everyone banded together to convince Isla’s mother to take Poppy home, because that started the whole thing.

Was Poppy’s Place what you expected?

CHRISSI: Yes. I wanted cutesy, I wanted something light to read. This was exactly what I needed.
LUNA: Yes. I was nearing a bit of a reading-slump and wanted something cute, fun and easy to read and Poppy’s Place ticked all these boxes. Plus Lucy Truman illustrations are beautiful so that was an extra bonus.

Would you recommend it?

CHRISSI: Of course! I can’t wait to add it to my bookshelves at school.
LUNA: Absolutely, I’m looking forward to reading the next in the series.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

