Beth and Chrissi Do Kid Lit- The Horse and His Boy

The Horse and His Boy (Chronicles of Narnia, #3)

How did I get it?:
I borrowed it from Beth!

Synopsis:

The Horse and his Boy is a stirring and dramatic fantasy story that finds a young boy named Shasta on the run from his homeland with the talking horse, Bree. When the pair discover a deadly plot by the Calormen people to conquer the land of Narnia, the race is on to warn the inhabitants of the impending danger and to rescue them all from certain death.

Thoughts:

I remember reading the Narnia stories when I was younger, but not really enjoying any of the books as much as The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe. However, reading The Horse and His Boy as an adult has made me revise my opinion. I’m still not a massive fan of this series, but I thought it was a much more enjoyable read!

The Horse and His Boy takes the reader back to Narnia. Peter is one the throne and Aslan is still around. However, they aren’t the main focus of the story. The story follows Shasta, who is an orphan running away from his life, aided by Bree who is a horse from Narnia, who is also running away. They go through an adventure together on their quest to Narnia. They meet Aravis, who is an incredibly strong female character, and her horse.

C.S Lewis is an incredibly engaging writer. I don’t like how, as an adult, I’m more inclined to see the religious and racist elements to his writing. However, I try to let it go over my head and enjoy the story for what it is. An exciting adventurous story which is easy to read and can be enjoyed by children and adults alike!

For Beth’s brilliant review, check out her review HERE.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

Next up in the Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit Challenge (June):
The Borrowers- Mary Norton

3 thoughts on “Beth and Chrissi Do Kid Lit- The Horse and His Boy

  1. The Horse and His Boy is one of my favorite Narnia books, though I know what you mean about the religious and racist elements seeming much more obvious now. Like you, I just try to enjoy the fantastic stories! Great idea to read and review these reflecting on your perspective has changed.

  2. Pingback: Beth And Chrissi Do Kid Lit 2016 – MAY READ – The Horse And His Boy by C.S. Lewis | bibliobeth

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

