Sophie

Sophie

How did I get it?:
NetGalley- thanks to Lulu Publishing

Synopsis:

Sophie Banks has worked hard for what she has: top of her senior class in high school, gainfully employed, and hopelessly in love with the handsome Eric Lawrence. With graduation a mere three months away, Sophie’s life is on track until a family brawl turns her world upside-down. Between being exposed as having a less-than-ideal home life and faced with a principal who is fed up with her antics, Sophie is forced to live with a guardian, the strictest teacher from her parochial school, Ms. Brooke Jennings. Balancing her new life while hiding her old, Sophie is overwhelmed. On one lonesome drive home she’s involved in a life-changing car accident. Brooke’s loyalty through it all has Sophie seeing her guardian in a whole new light-as the mother she desperately needs. If only Sophie can get the rest of her family to feel the same. When Brooke moves in, love and loyalty will be tested, but will Sophie get the happy ending she’s fought for?

Thoughts:

I have to admit that I was immediately intrigued by the cover of this book. Its simplicity totally drew me into requesting the book. I totally went into it, not knowing much about it. I’m glad I did read this book, but I don’t think it’s a book that will stay with me for a long time. Don’t get me wrong, it is a decent read and I do think that many people will enjoy reading it! However, parts of it were completely unrealistic which did affect my enjoyment of the book.

Sophie centres around a girl who is seemingly reckless, daring and determined to break the rules/fight against authority. We learn that there is much more to Sophie than first meets the eye. For some reason, which we don’t find out immediately, Sophie’s headteacher is determined to make her graduate. Sophie has an awkward family/personal life, which slowly unravels as the story progresses. Sophie’s teacher takes her in and acts as her guardian.

This is where it all became a little muddled for me. As a teacher myself, it just seemed entirely unrealistic, especially as their relationship progressed. I just didn’t buy it at all. Sophie as a character, is intriguing and I liked reading about her relationship with Eric and his brothers (even though there were some very awkward and also unbelievable moments along the way!)

Little grips aside, this book did keep me gripped and certainly kept me turning the pages. I did enjoy the writing style, it was the plot and the characters that didn’t make this a solid 3 star read for me.

Would I recommend it?:
It’s not for me! 2.5 stars- I did enjoy reading this book and think many more will enjoy reading it too. I just couldn’t suspend my disbelief with regard to the plot.

An unrealistic plot somewhat affected my reading experience.

2 thoughts on “Sophie

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

