Orangeboy

Orangeboy

How did I get it?:
NetGalley- thanks to Hatchette Children’s Group

Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Marlon has promised his widowed mum that he’ll be good, and nothing like his gang-leader brother Andre. It’s easy when you keep yourself to yourself, listening to your dead dad’s Earth, Wind and Fire albums and watching sci-fi. But everything changes when Marlon’s first date with the beautiful Sonya ends in tragedy; he becomes a hunted man and he has no idea why. With his dad dead and his brother helpless, Marlon has little choice but to enter Andre’s old world of guns, knives and drug runs in order to uncover the truth and protect those close to him. It’s time to fight to be the last man standing.

Thoughts:

Orangeboy’s synopsis immediately caught my eye. I don’t read a lot of books like Orangeboy, but there was certainly something about it that drew me to the book. I’m so pleased that I requested this book as I thought it was a brilliant, gripping YA read. It captured my attention and had me whizzng through the story, eager to find out what was going to happen!

Orangeboy opens with Marlon on a date with a girl called Sonya. Sonya and Marlon have had a quarter of a pill each. The date ends in tragedy and Marlon’s life becomes increasingly complicated. Marlon starts to be hunted by a gang of people for reasons he doesn’t know. He is given Sonya’s ‘drugs phone’ by Sonya’s grandmother and finds himself in her phone under the name of Orangeboy. As Marlon starts to explore some more, he finds himself in the middle of a world of drugs and gangs that his older brother Andre was caught up in. Marlon has promised his mother that he won’t get into trouble like his brother, but trouble certainly seems to be finding Marlon and he wants to get to the bottom of it. 

This book usually wouldn’t be my sort of thing, but I really did devour it. I cared about Marlon and his family. I was intrigued to find out why he was being targetted. It felt realistic. I very much enjoyed the writing style and was immediately gripped by the story. I will certainly be looking out for more from this talented author in the future.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

A fantastic read. I didn’t expect to like it as much as I did!

2 thoughts on “Orangeboy

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

