My Husband’s Wife

My Husband's Wife

How did I get it?:
I received a copy for review consideration from Penguin Random House. This does not affect my opinion of the book!

Synopsis:

It’s the perfect love story.

Lily meets Ed at a party, and on their second date, he proposes. She’s a lawyer, he’s an up-and-coming artist. They own a small but beautiful flat in London and mix with all the right people.

But Lily has a secret. Something from her past, that is soon to collide with her present. And she thinks her new husband is hiding something too…

The vows they made will soon be tested to the very limits.

‘Till death us do part…’

Thoughts:

My Husband’s Wife immediately looked like my sort of book. I really enjoy thrillers, especially psychological thrillers, so when I was offered the chance to read this book I decided to go for it! It’s quite a big book, at over 500 pages, and I do personally think the pace suffered a little. However, if you’re into the genre then I do think this book is worth exploring. It’s not the most original thriller, but it is incredibly easy to read.

My Husband’s Wife is told in two parts. The first part is set 15 years prior to the current year. It is narrated by Lily and Carla. Lily is newly married to Ed, who she hasn’t know for very long but accepted his proposal. Lily is a defence lawyer and is nervous about going into prisons to defend people. She is hiding a secret about her brother’s death. Lily and Ed live in a flat above a neighbour Francesca and her daughter Carla. Carla is young and bullied at school. Carla, Ed and Lily’s lives become connected. The second part of the book gives the reader insight into grown up Carla’s life. Once more, their lives become entwined in a way in which no-one was expecting. This leads to lies, deceit, confusion and death…

This book has so much going on, yet at the same time, it felt very slow to start. I felt like its slow pace helped the reader get to know the characters well, however, my interest did start to wane slightly because the action took a while to get going. When it does pick up the pace, it is certainly hard to put down. My Husband’s Wife is a book where you don’t know who to trust or who to find some sympathy for. I found myself feeling frustrated but intrigued by so many of the characters.

I have to also mention the mention of the autistic spectrum in the book. I have worked with many children with Asperger’s/autism and it is fantastic to see it being represented so well within the story without it being overdone. Jane Corry clearly knows her stuff. I think My Husband’s Wife is a fantastic debut novel and I can see Jane Corry fitting very well into the thriller/psychological thriller genre.

The e-book for My Husband’s Wife is out now, with the ‘real’ book being published on 26th August by Penguin.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes! 3.5 stars.

A good psychological thriller which will lead you to think about morals!

2 thoughts on “My Husband’s Wife

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

