Ten Reasons I Love Reading

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list are ten reasons we love a certain thing. I decided to go for ten reasons that I love reading. I guess I have a lot more than ten reasons, but here goes…

(In no particular order)

  1. Exploring new worlds– I love reading about realistic and fantasy worlds. I just love stepping into a new book and experiencing the character’s world.
  2. Boredom busting- If it’s a good book, it can totally capture my attention. Hours can pass easily when I’m fully engrossed in a good book.
  3. Expanding my reading horizons– I used to be just a chick-lit reader, but since I started book blogging, I absolutely love exploring new genres that I never would have explored prior to blogging.
  4. Virtual adventures– I love experiencing adventures with the characters. I love reading about places that I haven’t visited be it real places or fantasy worlds. A good book can transport you to that world/place.
  5. Connecting to many stories– I love it when I can connect with a story or a character. I love it when a book really makes me feel.
  6. Learning new things– Books have made me incredibly knowledgeable about many topics.
  7. Reading diverse books– I love that more and more diverse books have been quietly seeping into the bookish world. I especially enjoy that YA is becoming more diverse. Representation is so important.
  8. A great addiction– It might be an expensive addiction at times, but it’s a healthy one. Not many addictions can enrich your mind! πŸ˜‰
  9. Connecting with like-minded people– I love speaking to fellow book nerds. It’s such a welcoming community. I also adore talking about books with my sister. My fellow book blogger and biblophile!
  10. Escapism– Sometimes it’s just what I need to escape a busy day or a stressful time.

What ten things have you discussed on your blog this week? Feel free to leave a link to your post and I’ll stop by later!

50 thoughts on “Ten Reasons I Love Reading

  1. I really can’t imagine my life without books in it – they’ve seen me through both happy and sad times and I love learning new things even if it’s just something obscure – yay for reading πŸ™‚

  2. Great topic and your reasons are great! Reading just opens up so many doors. I love that you included connecting with a book. I love when I can relate or get something meaningful from a book. πŸ‘

  3. I love that you put learning new things because I love learning in books! It’s the easiest way for me to learn I like and I enjoy it. Great list!

    My TTT

  4. Great list! I agree particularly with #7 β€” representation is SO important and I love that there are many experimental YA books out there. Not all succeed, of course, but that’s just the way of things. I also love #10, because I definitely read for escapism first and foremost of all.

    Here’s my TTT. πŸ™‚

  5. I agree that reading is one of the best addictions a person can have! Book-collecting can get expensive, but I think it is always worth it. πŸ™‚

  6. Great list! I completely agree re: exploring new worlds and that reading is the BEST addiction! ♥

  7. I love escaping to new world as well. Traveling through books is great. Thank you for stopping by. πŸ™‚

  8. I love when I discover a character that I really connect with or who teaches me something about myself. It is one of the gifts of reading! Imaginary friends:)!

  9. There are SO many reasons to love reading. How are we to limit them!? That said, escaping into a different world is probably the best “overall” reason for loving reading. πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for the Finding Wonderland visit, Chrissi!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

