Top Ten Favourite Roald Dahl Books

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list is a Top Ten Freebie, so I thought I’d go with my favourite Roald Dahl books.

As regular readers of my blog will know, I have loved sharing Roald Dahl with my class of 6-7 year olds this year. We have read 8 out of the 10 books on my list. I haven’t read The Witches with them as some parents aren’t keen… and Revolting Rhymes is too rude for them.

Books are in no particular order with book images going to the Goodreads page!

Matilda

Matilda

Matilda will always be my favourite Roald Dahl book. You have to love a little bookworm really, don’t you? I absolutely love this story and so did my class!

The BFG

The BFG

The BFG is such a great book. It really captured their attention. They’re still going on about whizzpoppers months down the line…

The Witches

The Witches

I’m sad that I haven’t had the chance to read this book to my class as I absolutely adore it. However, I totally have to respect the parent’s wishes and I can understand the concern that this particular parent has!

Charlie and The Chocolate Factory

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Charlie Bucket, #1)

Another classic Roald Dahl book. I loved reading this one as a child and to my class.

George’s Marvellous Medicine

George's Marvellous Medicine

George’s Marvellous Medicine was the first book I read with my first ever class, so it now has a very special place in my heart. ❤

The Twits

The Twits

The Twits are so wonderfully wicked to each other. I love it!

The Magic Finger

The Magic Finger

A quick read but with a deeper message. My class really enjoyed discussing morals with this one!

Esio Trot

Esio Trot

I loved reading this book. I asked my class to spell tortoise and showed them that’s ‘Esio Trot’ backwards. It blew their minds, bless them!

Fantastic Mr Fox

Fantastic Mr. Fox

This book is a new addition to my Roald Dahl top ten as I didn’t enjoy it as much as a child. However, when reading it to my class I found its charm!

Revolting Rhymes

Roald Dahl's Revolting Rhymes

This book is far too naughty to read to my class, but it’s hilarious!

Are there any more Roald Dahl worshippers out there? Let me know!

What have you picked as your freebie this week? Feel free to leave a link to your post!

66 thoughts on “Top Ten Favourite Roald Dahl Books

  1. I have only ever read Matilda, can you believe it? I love the story of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, but have only ever seen the movie versions. I would like to read more of Dahl’s work at some point. Maybe introduce his books to my daughter. 🙂 Thanks for sharing, Chrissi!

  2. I’ve only read two so far of Dahl’s books. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and the one with the orange… or was it a peach?? I remember enjoying both when I was fifteen.

  3. Ooooh yes, Roald Dahl books were my gateway books to reading, so they will always have a special place in my heart. I think the BFG is my favourite, with Matilda a close second. I’ve heard his short stories for adults are quite something, but I haven’t read them yet.

  4. I absolutely ADORE the BFG and I cannot wait to see the movie adaptation that’s coming out this summer!! I’ve never actually read Matilda before, but I feel like it’s sort of a must-read staple for bookworms so I should probably read it soon 🙂

  5. I love Roald Dahl! I just picked up a copy of his ghost stories (for adults) at a library sale, and I”m looking forward to giving it a try. Love The BFG and The Witches!

  6. Roald Dahl is the best! I loved The Witches, because I was a kid who loved all things a little bit creepy. On the other hand, Matilda is one I would read over and over. Good for you for reading so many great books to your class! I student-taught tenth grade English last year, and unfortunately we only read five books/plays all semester.

  7. Confession. The only Roald Dahl book I’ve read is Fantastic Mr. Fox. As a kid I didn’t read much and my bedtime story was usually Tolkien related so I think I missed out on these gems.

  8. Fantastic list. Two weeks ago my 19 year old daughter and I were at the used book store looking at books when we came across The Twits. We grabbed it bc we remember how much we loved reading it together when she was younger. For fun we read it out loud to each other. *lol* Then I gave it to my mom and told her to start reading from page 21 (where mrs. twits gets the shrinks bc that’s my mom) LOL

    TTT: http://wp.me/p4uAPW-2G4

  9. Your list is wonderful! It’s making me want to reread all the Roald Dahl books that I own (which I found earlier while sorting out my bookshelves). My favourite is actually Danny, the Champion of the World, partly because my family had the audiobook and so we’d always listen to it on tape. I completely fell in love with it! Matilda is also wonderful.

  10. Oh, as a kid I loved both Charlie books, and Danny the Champion of the World, and Henry Sugar. As a teen I read his super creepy stories for adults and his autobiography as well. What a fun list you have!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

