The Boyfriend List (Ruby Oliver #1)

Ruby Oliver 1: The Boyfriend List

How did I get it?:
NetGalley, thanks to Hot Key Books

Previously read by the same author:

Synopsis:

Ruby Oliver is fifteen and has a shrink. But before you make up your mind about her, you should know that she has had a pretty awful (and eventful) past ten days. She has:
* lost her boyfriend
* lost her best friend (Kim)
* lost all her other friends (Nora, Cricket)
* did something suspicious with a boy
* did something advanced with a boy
* had an argument with a boy
* drank her first beer (someone handed it to her)
* got caught by her mom (ag!)
* had a panic attack (scary)
* lost a lacrosse game (she’s the goalie)
* failed a math test (she’ll make it up)
* hurt Meghan’s feelings (even though they aren’t really friends)
* became a social outcast (no one to sit with at lunch)
* and had graffiti written about her in the girls’ bathroom (who knows what was in the boys’!?!).

But don’t worry, Ruby lives to tell the tale. Through a special assignment to list all the boys she’s ever had the slightest, little, any-kind-of-anything with, comes an unfortunate series of events that would be enough to send any girl in a panic.

Thoughts:

The Boyfriend List is being re-released under Hot Key Books on 14th July 2016. I have to admit that E.Lockhart’s books have been a bit hit and miss for me. Some of them I like, some I didn’t ‘get’ as much as I wanted to. I requested The Boyfriend List and its sequel as I thought they sounded like fun and easy reads. That’s exactly what I was looking for!

The Boyfriend List follows Ruby, who after some bad incidents with boys, ends up telling a psychiatrist all about the boys on her boyfriend list. These are boys who she either liked the look of, had a little thing with or had a relationship with. The book takes us through Ruby’s connection with these boys as she tells the psychiatrist about them.

This book is quick and easy to read. It didn’t fully immerse me in the action. I felt I was just watching the conversation between Ruby and her doctor. I didn’t feel fully part of the action, but this didn’t affect my enjoyment of the story.  I wish there had been more about how Ruby dealt with her panic attacks as it seemed to me like it was quite quickly brushed over.The Boyfriend List has footnotes, something you may love or hate, but they’re there.

I didn’t really think Ruby was a memorable character. She’s fine to read about, she didn’t irritate me or anything like that. I’m just not sure she’ll stick with me for a very long time. I did enjoy reading her voice and trying to find out what was the catalyst to Ruby’s panic attacks. If you’re not into books about boy obsessed girls, then I don’t think this series will be for you. Ruby is boy mad and that’s certainly the focus in this story.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes! Especially if you like E.Lockhart’s writing!

An easy to read piece of teenage fiction!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

