A Week In The Life Of A Primary School Teacher: Ideas, Ideas, Ideas!

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my life as a primary school teacher. I currently work at a primary school teaching 6-7 year olds. My training posts on this subject were really successful and so therapeutic for me, therefore I’ve decided to continue posting on the topic. I will not be naming any children, or the school where I work. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind! Bookish goodness returns as normal Monday-Saturday!

This week has felt very odd and bitty. We’re approaching the end of the academic year (8 working days left!) and to be honest, we’re not packing very much into the school day. You might think that sounds great, but I like a bit of a routine, so it’s making me feel a bit uneasy. We are putting on a class play (based on a book-of course!) which’ll be fun. I do like having a focus.

I may still have 8 working days left with the infant part of the school, but I’m already having loads of ideas for my next class. My 7-9 year olds. I’ve picked our class book already. Priorities! We’re going to go for a new David Walliams book The World’s Worst Children. I’ve found out that the children I don’t know enjoy David Walliams and my children in my current class that I’m taking up love Roald Dahl. I totally think there’s a similarity between Roald Dahl and David Walliams, so they’re going to love it!

I’m also already visualising how I want my classroom to look like. I’m excited to start afresh and grow even more as a teacher in this coming academic year.

4 thoughts on “A Week In The Life Of A Primary School Teacher: Ideas, Ideas, Ideas!

  1. I have such wonderful memories of my primary school teachers reading to us, I’m glad you’re providing the same for your kiddies :). My favorite teacher in 3rd grade quickly realized that I got bored listening to some of the stories because I had always read it before and needed more of a challenge. So I felt really proud and accomplished when she would excuse me to the library so I could read whatever I wanted if I wasn’t feeling the book the class was reading.
    I need to check out David Williams! Roald Dahl is one of my favorite authors from my childhood. Matilda and The Witches were my absolute favorites!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

