Nothing Tastes As Good

Nothing Tastes As Good

How did I get it?:
NetGalley- thanks to Hot Key Books

Synopsis:

What happens when you give in to the voices in your head?

Annabel is dead. And she’s not happy about it. Despite having strived to be ‘lighter than air’ back when she was alive, the consequences of that yearning haven’t quite sunk in yet.

Julia Jacobs is fat. Which Annabel immediately notices when she’s assigned as Julia’s ghostly helper (don’t even think about calling her a guardian angel). And as her helper, Julia’s problem seems pretty obvious to Annabel. Fat = problem = unhappy. Sorted.

Thoughts: 

I first heard about this book from one of my favourite author’s Louise O’Neill. It sounded so intriguing. It’s about Annabel, who has died after suffering from heart failure due to anorexia. Annabel is assigned to Julia Jacobs to help her out. To Annabel, Julia’s problem is pretty obvious. Julia is fat. To make her happy, Annabel believes that she has to encourage Julia to lose weight.

This book is pretty raw. Eating disorders are explored through Annabel’s afterlife and Claire Hennessey really doesn’t hold back. I didn’t really understand from the beginning what Annabel’s purpose was. Annabel is determined to ‘help’ Julia with her weight. However, Annabel finds through Julia she begins to discover herself. Annabel discovers that there are so many reasons why people can have issues with food. Julia also learns a lot through the story. She explores her own issues with food and learns to accept what makes her want to overeat.

I definitely think this book should come with a little warning. It’s certainly an intense read and if you don’t feel strong enough to read it, then I wouldn’t recommend it. That said, this book is incredibly unique, powerful and well written. It is one that I believe will divide opinion. It takes a little while to get used to, but it certainly is one of the most unique books that I’ve read this year. I’d definitely read more from Claire Hennessy.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

A wonderful YA debut. This book is unique.

6 thoughts on “Nothing Tastes As Good

  1. Wowww this sounds incredible! I mean, obviously you had me at “heard about it from Louise O’Neill” 😂 but still! I think there definitely need to be more books like this out there, like there have been books about other tough topics lately but eating disorders still seem a bit underrepresented. Fabulous review, I am adding this one to my TBR right now!

  2. Oh my gosh, this sounds really good! I haven’t read any of Louise O’Neil’s books yet though I have put in a request for ‘Asking for It’ at my local library. This will definitely be on my list.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

