Ten Facts About Me As A Reader/Blogger

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list are ten facts about me, whether it’s me as a reader or me as a blogger! So here we go…

  1. My mum taught me to read.
  2. I used to only read chick-lit. Ahh, how I’ve broadened the genres I read.
  3. Second hand books freak me out a little bit. It’s the not knowing who has touched it before me.
  4. I love YA and wish there was more of it around when I was growing up!
  5. I love the smell of a new book.
  6. I love reading to my class. I’ve turned them into bookworms!
  7. My sister blogs. Over at Bibliobeth.
  8. I compare myself to other bloggers.
  9. I feel uncomfortable when I don’t have any blog posts drafted.
  10. This isn’t my first blog. I used to have another which I ran for about 5 years. The bookworm community is much more welcoming though.

What facts about you have you shared this week? Feel free to leave a link to your posts and I’ll stop by!

55 thoughts on “Ten Facts About Me As A Reader/Blogger

  1. My sister is the same with secondhand books. She would never buy a secondhand book and always gives me odd looks when I tell her I’ve been to the giant second hand book sale 😛
    I also wish there was more YA when I was growing up but I’m so glad that now it’s really getting the acknowledgement and shelfspace it deserves.
    Great list! 😀

  2. LOVE this list! I am the same as you with used books- ick. I don’t know why, I am not really a germaphobe in general, but when people touch stuff, and then I touch stuff, and… no. And I wish I EVER had a post saved in my drafts 😂 I have one right now, and it is like, foreign to me! I compare myself allll the time- though I wish I didn’t! I had another blog too, once upon a time! It was a “mom” blog, and I loathed that community. Like, I wanted to be real, and they wanted to be June Cleaver and also just post products. Like… do I look like a 50s housewife? No? Great, because I am not reviewing cleansers OR pretending to know how to cook- or care to. Hahha, such a tangent, sorry– my point was that I totally agree about the book community being SO much more kind and invitinG!! Thanks for sharing these with us!! 😀

    • I work with children so I’m used to the germs which come with them. It’s why I’m surprised I don’t really like used books! Having drafts does take off the pressure, I can imagine that’s a little weird to you though if you’re not used to it!

      Your comment really made me smile! 🙂

  3. It’s so wonderful that your sister blogs as well!
    And I know exactly what you mean about comparing yourself to other bloggers. But now that I’ve made friends in the community and realize how supportive everyone is, it makes it much easier for me to more chill and relaxed about the whole thing.

  4. My then step mum taught me to read 🙂 I also had another blog before the one I have now, but it didn’t run as long and was more of a test to see if it was something I actually wanted to do! I can’t wait till my son is old enough to be turned into a bookworm!!

  5. Its great that your sister is also a book-blogger, I have just followed her.I am the opposite with second-hand books, I love them and always try to guess about the previous owners especially if the books has some notes. I once found an autographed copy and couldn’t stop trying to figure out why the owner gave out the book.I do love the smell of a new book though 🙂

    Here are my facts:https://ahavenforbooklovers.wordpress.com/2016/07/12/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-facts-about-me/

  6. I can’t remember who taught me to read, is that bad? I do remember my headmaster in primary school reading to us though, so you will be remembered forever 🙂 It’s a wonderful thing you’re doing for them. My co-blogger gets really antsy when there iaren’t any posts drafted, I should try harder not to stress her out but I live on the edge, I’m always posting reviews the day they’re supposed to go live. :S

    Great List Chrissi,
    Happy Reading
    Rachel @ Paein-and-Ms4Tune

  7. I hate the feeling of not having any blog posts drafted!! The inner scheduler in me loves to have everything planned ahead of time, which is both good and bad haha 🙂 Great list!

  8. I really wish I had grown up with YA being as popular as it is today. I’m pretty sure I would have loved it. Also, I think we kind of all compare ourselves to other bloggers, even when we know we shouldn’t. It’s kind of hard not to sometimes.

  9. You cannot go wrong with the smell of new books. It’s like the first step in a new adventure haha.
    I can say I’ve compared myself to other bloggers before as well. I think it’s only natural to do so but I know that we all have our different ways of reading, writing and blogging and my enjoyment is the important part. 😀

  10. Aw it’s good of you to read to your class! I loved it when my teacher did that growing up. Having books read to me definitely contributed to me being a bookworm. Luckily for me, I’m only 18 and have been able to grow up with YA! I can’t imagine not, honestly. I actually was inspired by you to do this tag over on my blog! http://youngandbookish.com/ten-facts-about-me/

  11. Great facts! And I totally agree with you re: wishing there was more YA when I was growing up, especially series like Miranda Kenneally’s!

  12. I feel the same about used books … especially ones with mystery stains! I wish there were more YA books when I was younger, I definitely would have read more. And I totally agree about the book blogging community!

  13. Haha, my dad is exactly the same about second hand books! He refuses to have any in the house, they totally freak him out!
    Book sniffing is one of my favourite things to do!
    Oh dear, you would feel very uncomfortable around my blog then. I never have anything drafted! I’m so bad at pre-planning!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

