Swimming To The Moon

Swimming to the Moon

How did I get it?:
NetGalley- thanks to Hodder Children’s Books

Previously reviewed by the same author:

Synopsis:

‘Just call me Bee. Please, please call me that. If you call me Beatrix Daffodil Tulip Chrysanthemum Rose Edwards I shan’t answer you. I am not being rude or unfriendly, or insolent as Mrs Dixon my teacher calls me. I just don’t like my name. Well, would you?’

Bee stumbles through life in her stripy socks with her head in the clouds, doing her very best to keep out of the way of her bickering parents and avoid the bendy tap dancing freak Crystal Kelly – who makes her life a misery. But when Crystal double-dares her to volunteer for a sponsored swim in honour of her great grandmother Beatrix’s memory, Bee can’t back down. Even though she is terrified of water and cannot swim!

Then new boy Moon-Star gallops to Bee’s rescue on his horse and takes her to meet Old Alice, who lives in a beautiful painted wagon. As Bee enters this new world, her life is changed for ever.

Finally she has an ally. Down by the promise tree the new friends make a pact – Moon Star will teach Bee to swim if Bee will teach him to read. They spit on their hands and shake on their vow and a beautiful friendship begins.

Thoughts:

I love Jane Elson’s writing, so when I had the opportunity to read her latest book I jumped at the chance. I find Jane Elson’s books to be incredibly heart-warming and her latest, Swimming To The Moon, is no exception.

Swimming To The Moon follows Bee who has just lost her great-gran, Beatrix. Bee was incredibly close to her great-gran and struggles to come to terms with her loss. Bee promised her great-gran that she would learn to swim. One day, when a new boy Moon Star rescues her from a group of kids being unkind to her it changes Bee’s life. Bee gets to know Moon Star and his grandmother Old Alice who are travellers. She discovers that Moon Star can not read or read. Moon Star and Bee make a pact. They promise that Moon Star will help Bee learn to swim if she teaches him to read.

I thought this story was absolutely adorable. It was honest in the way it didn’t give its main characters a perfect family. Bee’s Dad wasn’t the most supportive and he infuriated me. He argued with Bee’s mum. She certainly didn’t come from a perfect family which is bound to be relatable to so many readers. Moon Star also didn’t have the ‘perfect’ family even though his rather eccentric grandmother did really care for him. Both characters are so lovable and easy to love as we watch them grow.

I love Jane Elson’s stories. They’re magical, fun and heart-warming at the same time. I always finish a Jane Elson book with a smile on my face. I highly recommend her books.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

Another brilliant book from the wonderfully talented Jane Elson.

9 thoughts on “Swimming To The Moon

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

