Ten Books Set Outside The U.S.

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list are my Top Ten books set outside the U.S. This has been quite a tricky list, not that I don’t read books set outside the U.S…. I do read lots and that’s been the problem…narrowing it down to 10!

In no particular order, here they are (images go to Goodreads)

Harry Potter- J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)

Harry Potter is such an amazing series and it is a series that will forever stay with me! I love that it’s British!

Geek Girl- Holly Smale

Geek Girl (Geek Girl, #1)

Geek Girl is such a fun series. I’m slightly addicted. It does have some ridiculous moments but at the heart of it is a fun and heart-warming story. Harriet, the main character, is utterly relatable!

V Is For Violet- Alison Rattle

V for Violet

This wonderful book is set in London in the 1960s. I thought it was utterly gripping!

Noughts and Crosses- Malorie Blackman

Noughts & Crosses (Noughts & Crosses, #1)

We don’t know for sure that this book isn’t set in the U.S. However, I see it as a book set in the U.K. It’s a wonderful, gripping read with diverse characters and dystopian settings.

Radio Silence- Alice Oseman

Radio Silence

I loved this book. It surpassed Alice’s debut novel for me. Such an interesting concept and really well written.

Hollow Pike- Juno Dawson

Hollow Pike

I thought this was an incredibly atmospheric read.

Undone- Cat Clarke

Undone

This book had me frantically turning the pages and had one hell of an ending!

Trouble- Non Pratt

Trouble

Non Pratt is a fantastic author. I love how raw her books are. This one centres around teenage pregnancy.

Dead Jealous- Sharon Jones

Dead Jealous (Poppy Sinclair, #1)

Poppy Sinclair is one of my favourite YA characters. She’s brilliant in this, very British, YA thriller/mystery.

Fallen Grace- Mary Hooper

Fallen Grace

This book is set in Victorian London. I didn’t expect to fall in love with it as much as I did, but I thought it was a brilliant piece of historical fiction.

Which books have you enjoyed that aren’t set in the U.S? Feel free to leave a link to your post and I’ll stop by!

43 thoughts on “Ten Books Set Outside The U.S.

  1. I have seen HP on every list I have visited … And it’s also on mine!! I also have some of these on my TBR and I just added Dead Jealous to my TBR!! Great list 🙂

  2. I had a hard time narrowing my list down to ten, so I didn’t. I kept going. I often don’t know where a book is set either unless there are a few clues. One book I read this summer was set in Australia though it never said so it referred to the corner markets as milk bars. That was how i knew.
    My TTT

  3. Noughts and Crosses was one book I read when I was younger and I’ve never been so moved. I was so emotionally distraught by the book that I couldn’t find it in me to continue the rest of the series. So powerful.

  4. Geek Girl is fun. I have the sequel around her somewhere and I really should read it. Also – You enjoyed Trouble? I think I’ll have to read it. I read Remix recently and thought it was a great read. Another fantastic list, Chrissi! I love seeing what you post on Tuesdays. And everyday. You know what I mean.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

