Briar Rose

Briar Rose

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

For Briar Rose, life is anything but a fairy tale. She’s stuck in a small town in deepest Georgia with parents who won’t let her out of their sight, a bunch of small-minded, gossiping neighbours and an evil ex who’s spreading nasty rumours about what she may or may not have done in the back of his car. She’s tired of it all, so when, on her sixteenth birthday, her parents tell her that she is cursed and will go to sleep for a hundred years when the clock strikes midnight, she’s actually kind of glad to leave it all behind. She says her goodbyes, lies down, and closes her eyes . . . And then she wakes up. Cold, alone and in the middle of the darkest, most twisted fairy tale she could ever have dreamed of. Now Briar must fight her way out of the story that has been created for her, but she can’t do it alone. She never believed in handsome princes, but now she’s met one her only chance is to put her life in his hands, or there will be no happy ever after and no waking up.

Thoughts:

I love fairy tale retellings or reimaginings. However, I think it’s quite hard to get it right. So many people are quite precious about the fairy tales that they know so well.  Sleeping Beauty is definitely a classic fairy tale. It’s one of the most popular fairy tales as well. I think it’s hard to not copy a fairy tale in a reimagining. As a reader, I don’t want to see a fairy tale copied but at the same time I want a glimmer of the fairy tale. I want to see how it links up.

Briar Rose combined several of the Sleeping Beauty elements (Aurora was in the story!) but at the same time I felt like it had some original concepts which I really appreciated. I thought it was a really engaging read although parts of it did seem to drag a little. I could also see where the story was going, there weren’t many surprises along the way.  It was however, a very subtly funny book. I appreciated the humour, that’s for sure!

Briar Rose had some great characters who really made the story for me. I loved Briar Rose and thought she was a fantastic character to follow. I also appreciated how the characters were flawed. No one is perfect and I like to see that, especially in a fairy tale.

I really enjoyed the concepts of Briar Rose. I loved the creatures and the magic. I was captivated throughout the story. I really enjoyed Jana Oliver’s writing style. I’d certainly be intrigued to read more from her in the future.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

An imaginative fairy tale reimagining! I highly enjoyed it.

2 thoughts on “Briar Rose

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

