A Week In The Life Of A Primary School Teacher: School’s Out For Summer

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my life as a primary school teacher. I currently work at a primary school teaching 6-7 year olds. My training posts on this subject were really successful and so therapeutic for me, therefore I’ve decided to continue posting on the topic. I will not be naming any children, or the school where I work. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind! Bookish goodness returns as normal Monday-Saturday!

teacher-humor-quotes-meme11

BRING ME ALL OF THE BOOKS!

Yes, that’s right. School is out for me. I don’t return until September and I’m SO happy about that. Working in education, I know people moan about the time off teachers have. Yes, I have 6 weeks holiday, but some of that time (I reckon about 2 weeks) will be spent getting my new classroom ready. I’m moving classrooms and have quite the task to make my new classroom into a place where I’m happy to teach and the children are happy to learn. I also have a LOT of planning to do.

However, I do appreciate my summer break. I am hoping to do lots of reading and catch up with some blogging. I also want to catch up with friends, sleep and laugh lots!

These Sunday posts will stop until September and will be replaced by some bookish goodness.

Right now I’m off to bask in the glory that my first year of teaching is done!

6 thoughts on “A Week In The Life Of A Primary School Teacher: School’s Out For Summer

  1. Most of the people who moan about the holidays teachers get are the same parents who are glad to see their little darlings go back to school out of their way! I never wanted kids of my own so looking after other people’s sounds like a nightmare to me! Enjoy your well earned holidays!

  2. You only have six weeks off for summer? In Switzerland, it’s 8 weeks for summer, one week in October, two weeks over Christmas, one week in February and ten days for Easter break…
    Most of the breaks are spent planning or correcting for most of us, though. Albeit not the whole summer break. Since I don’t teach full time yet – only subbing – I don’t have the first and last week of summer break filled with meetings, either, so I guess I’m better off now than I will be in the future 😀

    • I have 6 weeks for summer, 1 in october, 2 in December, 1 in February, 2 during Easter, 1 in June. So it certainly evens up 😀 I know most of my breaks do involve planning too though. Although I’m trying to find a better balance of work and relaxing this summer. We’ll see…

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

